African American Women Writers of the 19th century - This site makes available several dozen works, each text scrupulously reprinted with no posthumous editing, each preface intact, from 30 hitherto inaccessible volumes of 19th century African American women's literature. This site is well organized, providing search tools that allow the reader to search by title, author, and genre.
Jackson Davis Collection - A collection of over 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students, taken in the first half of the twentieth century. Davis' goal was to show the terrible conditions in many black schools and how they could be improved. The collection is housed at the University of Virginia.
The Zora Neal Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress - The Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress present a selection of ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until they were rediscovered in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection.
African American Women Writers of the 19th century - This site makes available several dozen works, each text scrupulously reprinted with no posthumous editing, each preface intact, from 30 hitherto inaccessible volumes of 19th century African American women's literature. This site is well organized, providing search tools that allow the reader to search by title, author, and genre.
Jackson Davis Collection - A collection of over 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students, taken in the first half of the twentieth century. Davis' goal was to show the terrible conditions in many black schools and how they could be improved. The collection is housed at the University of Virginia.
The Zora Neal Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress - The Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress present a selection of ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until they were rediscovered in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection.
