Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Education Databases
Best Bet ERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a full-text collection of over 550 high quality education journals.
International Database of Education Systematic Reviews
Find published, ongoing, and planned systematic reviews in Education. So far, only reviews about language education have been added. Organized by the University of Oxford.
Higher Education Resources
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle provides well-researched and thoughtful analyses of current issues in higher education. The Chronicle is not peer reviewed.
Academic Search Complete
Best Bet Find scholarly research for any subject using the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database.
Find scholarly research on any subject. Connect Google Scholar with full text links from NIU Libraries in Settings > Library Links.
Scopus is a large interdisciplinary database that also provides author, publication and journal metrics like citation counts, author citation records and the Cite Score.
Web of Science
Find the most cited articles on any subject.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Find doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
ERIC Video Tutorials
Introduction to ERIC (3:47)
Advanced Searching in ERIC (4:12)