Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling: Get the full text

Links to the best library resources in Counseling (COUN) at Northern Illinois University

Finding the full text can be challenging. Here’s 3 ways to access the full text of articles at NIU Libraries.

Get the full text

Searching Google Scholar is an easy way to find free PDF's. You can also connect NIU Libraries to Google Scholar for more full text options using the instructions below.

  1. In Google Scholar, click on Settings from the menu (3 lines on the upper left-hand corner of the screen).
  2. Click on Library Links.
  3. Search for Northern Illinois University.
  4. Check off “Northern Illinois University - View It @ NIU"
  5. Save.

Google Scholar Settings with arrows pointing where to click to setup full text links. Use instructions below.

Your search results will now include View It @ NIU links. For more information about using View IT @ NIU to access full text, see "In Databases".

Click the red FIND IT button in databases or View It @ NIU in Google Scholar to find the full text of articles from NIU Libraries.

undefined

1. Login with your A/ZID and Password.

2. Scroll down to the View Online section for links to the electronic resources that provide access to the journal. These links may not take you directly to a PDF. They may take you to a journal page through NIU's login where so you may have to find the specific article using citation information (i.e. year, volume, issue)

undefined

3. If NIU Libraries doesn't have the article, Request from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) by submitting the pre-populated form. Article PDF's are generally sent back to you within 2-3 business days.

NIUILLiad screenshot

Manually request materials that NIU Libraries doesn't have through inter-library loan.

 1. Go to the library’s website (library.niu.edu) and login to “My Library Account.”

 

2. Once logged in, under “Interlibrary Loans”, click “NIUILLiad.”

 

3. Create a “New Request” for an article and fill in the information about the article from the citation. Then “Submit Request.” Articles ordered via NIUILLiad generally take between 3 business days and 2 weeks to process and you will receive an email when the full text is available.