Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Counseling Databases
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Over 4 million indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields compiled by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1887-present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Over 200,00 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated publishers. Coverage: 1894-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best Bet Find scholarly research for any subject using the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly research on any subject. Connect Google Scholar with full text links from NIU Libraries in Settings > Library Links.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find the most-cited research on a topic. Also use Scopus to find citation counts, author citation records and h-indexes, and journal metrics like the Cite Score.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly research from any discipline. All articles in JSTOR are full text, but JSTOR rarely has the most recently published works.
Educational Aspects of Counseling
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1996 to present. Full Text.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle provides well-researched and thoughtful analyses of current issues in higher education.
Sociological Aspects of Counseling
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
Medical Aspects of Counseling
PubMed This link opens in a new window
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Find doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.