Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
This is the "William Wordsworth Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

William Wordsworth Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

William Wordsworth Collection at NIU

William Wordsworth, 1770-1850

This significant gathering of books by and about Wordsworth was acquired by the Library in 1981. Many of the items are first editions and presentation copies from the library of George Lillie Craik (1837-1905), who for forty years was an active partner in Macmillans and included among his literary friends such writers as Tennyson, John Morley, Stopford Brooke, Margaret Oliphant, and Charlotte Yonge. Craik's special interest was in poetry, especially the poetry of Wordsworth.

Included in the Wordsworth Collection are the Lyrical Ballads With Other Poems. London: Ptd. for T. N. Longman and O. Rees, Paternoster-Row, by Biggs and Co. Bristol, 1800. 2 vols. In volume one, a second state of the second edition, is the first appearance of Wordsworth's preface in which he states what became "The Manifesto of the Romantic Movement” and includes the statement, "Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings; it takes its origin from the emotion recollected in tranquillity.” Other highlights of the collection include first editions of The Excursion ..., Peter Bell, a Tale in Verse, Yarrow Revisited, and Other Poems, The Prelude ..., and so on. Many of the items are presentation copies and bear the bookplates of Arthur Houghton, J. B. Hawes, and, of course, George Lillie Craik. We continue to add materials to this collection whenever possible. To see which particular titles we own, please search our online catalog.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip