Featured LInk
The Zora Neal Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress-The Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress present a selection of ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until they were rediscovered in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection.
General Web Resources
- American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
- An Archive of Memorable Quotes by Women
- FeMiNa -One of the older comprehensive women-related sites on the Internet, founded in September 1995.
- Feminist Activist Resources on the Net
- Feminist Theory Website - The materials are currently divided into 31 fields, including traditional disciples such as education, history, and law, and topics such as Post-Colonialism, Separatism, and Body Studies.
- Feminist.Com
- FEMLINK: The International Video Collage
- From Pi Beta Phi to Arrowmont - IN 1912, the Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women founded a school in Gatlinburg, Tennessee to mark its fiftieth annivesary. This website chronicles the work of the Settlement School ( and its contemporary successor Arrowmont ) tracing the work done by these women in economic development and education in the Great Smoky Mountains from 1910 to 2004.
- Gendernet - Sponsored by the World Bank, this site summarizes how its projects work to reduce gender disparities and promote womens involvement in economic development.
- Grassroots Feminist Political Posters in India
- International Museum of Women
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia
- National First Ladies' Library -a useful resources
- National Woman's Party Digital Collection
- Research Resources for the Social Sciences - The site is well organized into 18 different categories, including general resources, reference materials, data archives, and news resources. Each category provides links to web sites including e-journals, listservs, and full-text resources. Another useful category, "Aggressive Pattern Searches," provides links to information about searching the web, effective search strategies, and guides to using Internet search engines.
- SAWNET: South Asian Women's Network - SAWNET is a voluntary non registered organization, begun by Jyothy Reddy and Susan Chacko. The countries covered are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Linked sites include statistical data, reports, children's books, etc. SAWNET will be useful to a wide range of audiences interested in South Asian women's issues.
- SPARROW- Sound & Picture Archives for Research on Women
- ViVa: a Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
- Voice of the Shuttle - Gender and Sexuality Studies
- Woman Stats Project
- Women in Politics
- Women's Law Initiative
- Women's Resources on the Internet
- Women's Rights and Democracy in the Arab World
- Women's Studies Database: Film Reviews
- Women's Studies in Digital Archives
- WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies
- WWWomen The premier search directory for women online.
Organizations
History
- A Ballot for the Lady: Washington Women's Strugge for the Vote ( 1850-1910 )
- "Abundant Life to All": The Y.W.C.A. of the U.S.A.- This site profiles an exhibit mounted at Smith College in 2007 marking the 65th anniversary of the Sophia Smith Collection on women's history. The items included are drawn from the 1, 132 file boxes of YWCA records held by the collection.
- "No Job for a Woman": The Effects of War on Women's Lives During the 20th and 21st Century
- 300 Women Who Changed the World - Profiles of women who have left their mark on the world.
- A *Daring Experiment*: Harvard and Business Education for Women, 1937 - 1970
- African American Women in Iowa Digital Collection
- Before Victoria: Extraordinary Women of the British Romantic Era
- Berenice Abbott: Changing New York, 1935 - 1938
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians - Covers mostly nineteenth century to the present with a few eighteenth century and before.
- Caroline Bartlett Crane: Everyman's House
- Clara Barton National Historic Site
- Collected Works of Florence Nightingale
- Demons and Devotion: The Hours of Catherine of Cleves
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
- Early Modern Women - Database This site is browseable by subject, type, time period, language, and geographic area.
- Early Women Masters East and West - This website has changed its name from Early Women's Art (earlywomensart.net).
- Emma Goldman Papers
- Federal Citizen Information Center - A one-stop source for answers to questions about consumer problems and government services.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
- The First Actresses
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World - Can be searched alphabetically or chronologically, 1848-.
- Global Women's History Project
- Hatshepsut: From Queen to Pharaoh
- Home Economics Archive - Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH)
- Jane Jacobs and the Future of New York
- Jewish Women and the Feminist Revolution
- Julia Morgan- An Online Exhibition
- Lafayette Park: First Amendment Rights on the President's Doorstep
- Letters to Sala: A Young Woman's Life in Nazi Labor Camp
- Marjorie Stoneman Douglas Writer and Conservationist
- Miller NAWSA Suffrage Scrapbooks, 1897-1911
- Natalie V. Scott Exhibit ( Louisiana and New Orleans )
- National First Ladies' Library
- National Women's Hall of Fame
- National Women's History Project
- Other Women's Voices: Translations of Women's Writing Before 1700- This site begins with hymns written ca.2300 BC by Enheduanna, a Sumerian priestess, and covers 125 writers from both hemispheres whose works have been translated into modern English.
- Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
- She's Game: Women Making Australian Sporting History
- The Floating World of Ukiyo-E - Ukiyo-e (translated as pictures of the floating or sorrowful world) is a showcase of the Library's spectacular holdings of Japanese prints, books, and drawings from the 17th to the 19th centuries. These works are complemented by related works from the Library of Congress' collections created by Japanese and Westerns artists in the 20th century.
- The Gertrude Bell Project
- The International Archive of Women in Architecture
- The Jean Thomas Collection-Based at the University of Louisville, this collection records the lifework of Thomas, a major photographer and documentarian of the mountain music of eastern Kentucky in the first decades of the twentieth century.
- The Real Rosie the Riveter Project
- This Shall Be the Land for Women: The Struggle for Western Women's Suffrage, 1860-1920
- Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889- 1963
- Women Immigrants, 1945 to the present
- Women in America: 1820-1842 - A collection of eighteen travelers accounts by both sexes of the United States in the first decades of the nineteenth century, intended to provide a fuller picture of women's lives than that given in Alexis de Toqueville's Democracy In America. Writers included range from James Fenimore Cooper and Charles Dickens to John James Audubon. Searching is provided by author and topic.
- Women in the U.S. Postal System
- Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Women's Party
- Women Physicians, 1850s- 1970s
- Women Who Rock Oral History Archive
- Women Working, 1800-1930
- Women's History Month
Women's Health
Research Centers
- Barnard Center for Research on Women
- Center for American Women and Politics
- Center for Women & Information Technology
- George Palmer Putnam Collection of Amelia Earhart Papers
- Institute for Women's Policy Research
- International Center for Research on Women
- June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives: Insuring the Future By Preserving the Past - Originally known as the West Coast Lesbian Collection, these are the only archives in the western United States dedicated exclusively to preserving lesbian history. Holdings reach back to 1895 and include the papers of veteran lesbian activists Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin.
- Lesbian Herstory Archives
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
- Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University
- Sophia Smith Collection: Voices of Feminism Oral History Project
- Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender and Women's Studies
- The Alan Guttmacher Institute - The Alan Guttmacher Institute was founded in 1968 as a semiautonomous division of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. Today, it is a totally independent, not-for-profit organization whose mission is to "protect and expand the reproductive choices of all women and men; to enable individuals to have access to information and services concerning sexual activity, reproduction, and family planning; and to give priority to the needs and concerns of those who may be disadvantaged." Information provided, which is quite current, comes primarily from research and publications of the Institute itself.
- Women Artists Archive National Directory
Literature
Women's Bookstores and Publishing
Global Women's Community
Women in the Military
MilitaryWoman.org - A useful site for women in the military, women contemplating military service, and women veterans.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info 15E Founders Memorial Library, Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, IL 6015-2868. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
