Policies
Anatomy of a BookArtists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksCollational Exercises (ENGL 601)From Manuscript to PrintHistory of TypographyThe Medieval BookPrivate Press CollectionPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary Romance
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Anatomy of a BookAmerican Literature to 1830American GirlhoodsAmerican Literature 1830-1865American Literature 1865-1900American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Early American Literature (ENGL 330)Collational Exercises (ENGL 601)The EnlightenmentFrom Manuscript to PrintLetters and Journals in RBSC (ENGL 103)History of TypographyIntroduction to GLBT StudiesNineteenth Century Best SellersThe Medieval BookPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceRenaissance EssayScience Fiction SamplerShakespeareTransatlantic LiteratureTheater ResourcesWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementENGL 707 RyanMid 19th Century Periodicals (ENGL 200)Arthurian Literature ENGL 420HIntro to Special Collections (ENGL)ENGL 381HENGL 375Restoration Literature
American GirlhoodsThe EnlightenmentHistory 295History OverviewHistory of TypographyIntroduction to Black StudiesIntroduction to GLBT StudiesThe Medieval BookPaleographyWorld's Fair MaterialsIntroduction to American Indian History (HIST 370)US History overview
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Music-Related Materials in RBSCShakespeareTheater Resources
American GirlhoodsPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceScience Fiction SamplerWorld's Fair Materials
Artists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksThe Medieval BookWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementWorld's Fair Materials
American GirlhoodsAmerican Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Introduction to GLBT Studies
American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Introduction to Black Studies
This is the "William Morris and the Arts and Crafts Movement" page of the "Class Visits to Rare Books and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lists of materials for specific classes that have visited RBSC. Click on the tabs for your subject areas
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rbscclassvisitguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

William Morris and the Arts and Crafts Movement Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

William Morris and the Arts and Crafts Movement

William Morris, Aubrey Beardsley, and the Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau Movements

These are examples of materials available in RBSC related to William Morris, Aubrey Beardsley, and the Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau Movements. Students have an opportunity to learn techniques for the proper handling of rare and archival materials. Specific topics may yield more materials; please ask about your topic. To request a class visit, please email the Curator.

Aubrey Beardsley

Beardsley, Aubrey, 1872-1898. Reproductions of eleven designs omitted from the first edition of Le Morte Darthur illustrated by Aubrey Beardsley and published in MDCCCXCIII : also those made for the covers of the issue in parts and a facsimile print of the Merlin drawing : with a foreword by Aymer Vallance ; and a note on the omitted designs by Rainforth Armitage Walker. Published at Aldine House London : By J.M. Dent & Sons Limited, 1927 (Printed at Edinburgh : By Turnbull and Spears)  Half-title: Morte Darthur portfolio. Bound in vellum over boards, with upper cover design, as for bound volumes of Le morte d'Arthur, in gold; brown leather spine. "This edition of The morte Darthur portfolio is limited to 300 copies on hand-made paper for sale, after printing which the type has been distributed" -- Verso of front free endpaper. Issued in conjunction with the 3rd ed., 1927, which includes all the designs here reproduced, ten of them having already appeared in the 1909 2nd ed. Rare Books Collection NC1115.M3 B4

Beardsley, Aubrey, 1872-1898. A portfolio of Aubrey Beardsley's drawings illustrating "Salome" by Oscar Wilde. [London? : s.n., 1912?] Rare Books Oversize NC1115 .B3951912A

Yellow book (London, England) The yellow book. London : E. Mathews & J. Lane ; Boston : Copel& Day,[1894-1897] Vol. 1 (Apr. 1894)-v. 13 (Apr. 1897). Quarterly. Imprint varies. Oct. 1896-Apr. 1897: London ; New York : J. Lane. Rare Books AP4 .Y4

Beardsley, Aubrey, 1872-1898. Under the hill and other essays in prose and verse, by Aubrey Beardsley; with illustrations. [3rd ed.] London, New York, John Lane, 1921. NIU--Main Collection--FML PR4089.B45 U6

William Morris and the Kelmscott Press

Chaucer, Geoffrey, d. 1400. The floure and the leafe, & The boke of Cupide, god of love, or The cuckow and the nightingale [ed. by F. S.Ellis.] {Hammersmith, Kelmscott Press, 1896] The boke of Cupide was written by one Clanvowe, who is now generally accepted as Sir Thomas Clanvowe. 300 copies printed on paper; 10 on vellum. Private Press Collection, Kelmscott Press PR1898 .F4 1896

Morris, William. The Earthly Paradise. Hammersmith: Kelmscott Press, 1896-7. Private Press collection, Kelmscott Press PR 5075 .A1 1896a

Rossetti, Dante Gabriel, 1828-1882. [Uniform Title: Hand and soul]. Hand & soul by Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Hammersmith : William Morris at the Kelmscott Press ;Chicago : Sold by Way and Williams, 1895. Private Press Collection: Kelmscott Press PR5244 .H41895

Chaucer, Geoffrey, d. 1400. Works of Geoffrey Chaucer : a facsimile of the William Morris Kelmscott Chaucer, with the original 87 illustrations by Edward Burne-Jones ; together with an introduction by John T. Winterich and a glossary for the modern reader. Cleveland: World Pub. Co., c1958. Notes: Original title page reads: The works of Geoffrey Chaucer, now newly imprinted. [Colophon: Here ends the Book of the works of Geoffrey Chaucer, edited by F. S. Ellis; ornamented with pictures designed by Sir Edward Burne-Jones, and engraved on wood by W. H. Hooper. Printed by me William Morris at the Kelmscott Press, Upper Mall, Hammersmith, in the county of Middlesex. Finished on the 8th day of May, 1896] Private Press Collection Oversize: Kelmscott Press PR1850 1896a

Morris, William, 1834-1896. Art and the beauty of the earth : a lecture delivered by William Morris at Burslem Town Hall on October 13, 1881. Series: Lecture 2. London: Longmans, 1899. Notes: Title from caption."Reprinted at the Chiswick Press with the Golden type designed by William Morris for the Kelmscott Press and finished on the sixteenth day of August, 1899." Private Press Collection. Chiswick Press N7425 .M6 1899a.

Ashbee, C. R. (Charles Robert), 1863-1942. An endeavor towards the teaching of John Ruskin and William Morris. Being a brief account of the work, the aims, and the principles of the Guild of handicraft in East London, written by C. R. Ashbee, and dedicated by him less in the writing, than in the work the writing seeks to set forth, to their memory. [London, Edward Arnold, 1901]. Notes: Colophon: "This record ... by C. R. Ashbee, is the first book printed at the Essex house press in the new type designed by him. The block & cuts are by George Thomson." "350 copies. No. 216." Bound in vellum; stamped in gold. Private Press Collection. Essex House Press. NK1142 .A7

Lefèvre, Raoul. The recuyell of the historyes of Troye.Hammersmith : Kelmscott Press ; 1892. Private Press Collection, Kelmscott Press PQ1570.A7

Other Arts & Crafts and Art Nouveau Examples

The Studio. London. Publication History: v. 1-167 (no. 1-853); Apr. 1893-May 1964. Continued by: Studio international. Vols. 1-116 have subtitle: An illustrated magazine of fine and applied art (varies slightly) Special Collections N1 .S91 V.1, NO.1 (APR 1893)

The Savoy. London: 1896. [Modern reprint] NIU Periodicals AP4 S3712 v. 1-5 (Jan 1896-Dec 1896)

Christian, Arthur, 1838-1906. Origines de l'imprimerie en France. Confe´rences faites les 25 juillet et 17 aou^t 1900, par m. A. Christian. Paris, Imprimerie nationale, 1900. Notes: Issued in portfolio. Each plate is accompanied by a leaf, giving author and title of the work from which it is reproduced. (These 46 leaves and 2 half-titles (Planches and Tables) not included in collation). Issued also the same year without colored frontispiece and with limited edition note. "Confe´rences faites a` l'E´cole internationale de l'Exposition universelle pre´ce´de´es d'une lettre de M. Le´on Bourgeois...et d'une introduction de m. Louis Herbette..." Rare Books Z144.C57

Crane, Walter, 1845-1915. The Alphabet of old friends. Routledge's new series of shilling toy books ; no. 73. Walter Crane's toy books. Shilling series. Tokyo : Holp Shuppan, 1981.Facsimile edition reproduced from the Osborne collection of early children's books. Facsim. of: London ; New York : George Routledge and Sons, [1875]. (Walter Crane's toy books. Shilling series)(Routledge's new series of shilling toy books; 73)  Rare Books Collection PZ8.3.C85 A11875AATITLEA

Crane, Walter, 1845-1915. The baby's own Aesop : being the fables, condensed in rhyme, with portable morals / pictorially pointed by Walter Crane ; engraved & printed in colours by Edmund Evans. Tokyo : Holp Shuppan, 1981. Rare Books Collection PZ7.C844BAL1887A

Puss in boots. Walter Crane’s picture books re-issue. Tokyo : Holp Shuppan, 1981. Notes: Facsimile edition reproduced from the Osborne collection of early children’s books. Facsimile of: London ; New York : John Lane, [1897] (Walter Crane’s picture books re-issue)Cover title. Rare Books Collection PZ8.3.C85A11875A ATITLEB

Molesworth, Mrs. The Tapestry Room: A Children's Romance. Illustrated by Walter Crane.  New York : A.L. Burt, Publisher, [1879?] APL PR5029.M62 T3 1879za

Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616. Don Quixote of the Mancha retold by Judge Parry; illustrated by Walter Crane. NY: John Lane, 1912. NIU Juvenile Collection FIC C419P

Viollet-le-Duc, Eugene-Emmanuel, 1814-1879. The habitations of man in all ages. By Eugene Viollet-le-Duc. Tr. by Benjamin Bucknall. With numerous illustrations. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1876. NIU Main Collection NA 7105 V82 1876

Jones, Owen, 1809-1874. The grammar of ornament, by Owen Jones. Illustrated by examples from various styles of ornament. London, Bernard Quaritch, 1910. Book Arts Collection Oversize NK1510 .J71910

Chaucer, Geoffrey,Gill, Eric,The Canterbury Tales. Waltham Saint Lawrence, Berkshire : Golden Cockerel Press, 1929-1931. Private Press Collection: Golden Cockerel Press PR 1866.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip