Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
This is the "Jeremy Taylor Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Jul 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Jeremy Taylor Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Jeremy Taylor Collection at NIU

Jeremy Taylor ca. 1613-1667

The Jeremy Taylor Collection was acquired by the University Libraries in 1972, from Robert Gathorne-Hardy, who was a Taylor scholar, bibliographer, and collector, and the author, with William P. Williams, A Bibliography of the Writings of Jeremy Taylor to 1700 : With a Section of Tayloriana (1971).

This collection of Jeremy Taylor-related materials is the largest and most comprehensive collection held outside of the British Museum and the Bodleian Library. Significant items in the collection include all the various editions of Holy Living printed in Taylor's lifetime. One copy has the signature and corrections in Taylor's own hand, and was exhibited in 1951 at the Victoria & Albert Museum. A copy of Taylor's Of the Sacred Order (Oxford, 1632), one of three known copies on large paper, in a contemporary Oxford binding of dark blue morocco is included. In addition, this collection includes the first edition of Vaughan's Golden Grove (1600); a first edition of Eikon Basilike (1649), Arthur Rowden's copy of Barksdale's Remembrancer of Excellent Men (1670), and Katherine Philips' Poems (1664). There are five original letters of Taylor's in the collection, several of which have not yet been published.

Nearly all of the volumes in this collection have been annotated by Gathorne-Hardy as part of his research; this includes annotations that note references to Taylor in passing, when Taylor is not the central focus of the text. In addition, we also hold Gathorne-Hardy's manuscripts relating to his research on Taylor, and a small cache of William Proctor Williams' manuscript materials relating to his work on Taylor. To see if we own particular titles, please search our online catalog.

Useful reference books about this collection:

Gathorne-Hardy, Robert. A Bibliography of the Writings of Jeremy Taylor to 1700 : With a Section of Tayloriana. DeKalb : Northern Illinois University Press, 1971. Rare Books Reference. BX5199.T3 G375 1971a

Williams, William Proctor. Jeremy Taylor, 1700-1976 : An Annotated Checklist. New York : Garland Pub., 1979. Jeremy Taylor Collection. BX5199.T3 W5

Williams, William Proctor. The Robert Gathorne-Hardy Jeremy Taylor Collection. DeKalb, 1973. Rare Books Reference. Z8861.8 .W545X

Porter, Harry Boone, 1923-. Jeremy Taylor, liturgist (1613-1667). London : Published for the Alcuin Club by S.P.C.K., 1979. Jeremy Taylor Collection. PR3729.T13 A8661979

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip