Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
Previous SFWA Officers Listing
This is the "Vincent Starrett Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Vincent Starrett Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Vincent Starrett Collection at NIU

Charles Vincent Emerson Starrett (ca. 1886-1974)

Vincent Starrett was a book collector, author, bibliographer, and a Sherlock Holmes scholar. He has been referred to as part of Chicago's "literary renaissance” and has written or edited more than 50 books of essays, criticism, fiction, biography, poetry, and bibliography. It has been said that Starrett's bibliographies on authors such as Arthur Machen, Stephen Crane, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Ambrose Bierce revived their popularity.

Born in Toronto, Starrett moved to Chicago with his family early on and eventually became a crime reporter, feature writer, political analyst, and foreign correspondent for the Chicago Daily News. His work at the Chicago Daily News ended with the publication of his first novel, "Seaports in the Moon" (1928), which was said to be a dominant bid for literary recognition. He also wrote a weekly column called " Books Alive" in the Chicago Tribune for 25 years, influencing the reading habits of millions. During this time he continued to write detective novels, literary essays, poetry, and more.

One of his greatest claims to fame was his fascination with and knowledge of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. In 1933 he wrote an imaginative biography on the fictional character called "The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes." He was one of the founders of the Bakers Street Irregulars, a Sherlock Holmes society, and he was a member of the Sherlock Holmes Society in London.

The Starrett Collection at Northern Illinois University Library's Rare Books and Special Collections began as a modest collection of Chicago Renaissance material many years ago. Items in the collection have been purchased over the years by the library or donated by collectors and other libraries. The collection consists of Starrett's novels, bibliographies, essays, poems, correspondence and letters, biographies, autobiographies, and miscellaneous odds and ends such as greeting cards and book plates.

Other libraries holding letters and works of Vincent Starrett include the University of Iowa, University of Minnesota, Henry E. Huntington Library, Lilly Library, Newberry Library, and Knox College. Starrett letters and correspondence can also be found in many library special collection departments within the collections of other authors such as Stephen Crane.

To see if we own particular titles, please search our online catalog and the Starrett Manuscript Inventory . To search "Books Alive" and other Starrett articles in the Chicago Tribune please search NIU's Chicago Tribune (historical).

Useful reference books about the collection:

Murphy, Michael. Vincent Starrett: In Memoriam: A Tribute. Culver City, CA:Pontine Press, 1974. Vincent Starrett Collection PS3537.T246 Z72

Ruber, Peter A. The Last Bookman: A Journey into the Life and Times of Vincent Starrett, Author, Journalist, Bibliophile. New York: Candlelight Press, 1968. Vincent Starrett Collection PS3537.T246 Z8

Starrett, Vincent. Born in a Bookshop: Chapters from the Chicago Renascence. Norman, University of Oklahoma Press, 1965. Main Collection & Starrett Collection PS 3537.T246 Z5

 

Vincent Starrett's Books Alive Column

"Books Alive" Columns held in Special Collections

Chicago Daily News

1942

  • September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • October 7, 14, 21, 28
  • November 4, 11

Chicago Tribune

1942

  • November 29
  • December 6, 13, 20, 27
  • Winter's Sentinel by Shandy Gaff (May be Vincent Starrett) (November 4)

1943

  • January 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • February 7, 14, 21, 28
  • March 14, 21, 28
  • April 4, 11, 18, 25
  • May 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • June 6, 13, 20, 27
  • July 4, 11, 18, 25
  • August 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • September 5, 12, 19, 26
  • October 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • November 7, 14, 21, 28
  • December 5, 12, 19, 26

1944

  • January 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • February 6, 13, 20, 27
  • March 5, 12, 19, 26
  • April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • May 7, 14, 21, 28
  • June 4, 11, 18, 25
  • July 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • August 6, 13, 20, 27
  • September 3, 10, 17, 24
  • October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • November 5, 12, 19, 26
  • December 3, 10, 17, 24, 31

1945

  • January 7, 14, 21, 28
  • February 4, 11, 18, 25
  • March 4, 11, 18, 25
  • April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • May 6, 13, 20, 27
  • June 3, 10, 17, 24
  • July 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • August 5, 12, 19, 26
  • September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • October 7, 14, 21, 28
  • November 4, 11, 18, 25
  • December 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

1946

  • January 6, 13, 20, 27
  • February 3, 10, 17, 24
  • March 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • April 7, 14, 21, 28
  • May 5, 12, 19, 26
  • June 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • July 7, 14, 21, 28
  • August 4, 11, 18, 25
  • September 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • October 6, 13, 20, 27
  • November 3, 10, 17, 24
  • December 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

1947

  • January 5, 12, 19, 26
  • February 2, 9, 16, 23
  • March 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • April 6, 13, 20, 27
  • May 4, 11, 18, 25
  • June 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • July 6, 13, 20, 27
  • August 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • September 7, 14, 21, 28
  • October 5, 12, 19, 26
  • November 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • December 7, 14, 21, 28

1948

  • January 4, 11, 18, 25
  • February 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • March 7, 14, 21, 28
  • April 4, 11, 18, 25
  • May 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • June 6, 13, 20, 27
  • July 4, 11, 18, 25
  • August 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • September 5, 12, 19 (2), 26
  • October 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • November 21, 28
  • December 5, 12, 19, 26

1949

  • January 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • February 6, 13, 20, 27
  • March 6, 13, 20, 27
  • April 3, 10, 17, 24
  • May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • The Literary Spotlight by Fanny Butcher (May 29) – a tribute to Starrett
  • June 5, 12, 19, 26
  • July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • August 7, 14, 21, 28 (2)
  • September 4, 11, 18, 25
  • October 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • November 6 (2), 13, 20, 27
  • December 4, 11, 18, 25

1950

  • January 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • February 5, 12, 19, 26
  • March 5, 12, 19, 26
  • April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • May 7, 14, 21, 28
  • June 4, 11, 18, 25
  • July 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • August 6, 13, 20, 27
  • Favorite Classics by Vincent Starrett (August 27)
  • September 3, 10, 17, 24
  • October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • November 5, 12, 19, 26
  • December 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • Dr. Watson's Mind Read By Master by Vincent Starrett (December 3)

1951

  • January 7, 14, 21, 28
  • February 4, 11, 18, 25
  • March 4, 11, 18, 25
  • April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • May 6, 13, 20, 27
  • June 3, 10, 17, 24
  • July 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • August 5, 12, 19, 26
  • September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • October 7, 14, 21, 28
  • November 4, 11, 18, 25
  • December 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

1952

  • January 6, 13, 20, 27
  • February 3, 10, 17, 24
  • March 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • April 6, 13, 20, 27
  • May 4, 11, 18, 25
  • June 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • July 6, 13, 20, 27
  • August 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • September 7, 14, 21, 28
  • October 5, 12, 19, 26
  • On Our 10 th Anniversary by Frederic Babcock (Oct.19)
  • November 2, 9, 16, 23
  • December 7, 14, 21, 28

1953

  • January 4, 11, 18, 25,
  • Bookman's Holiday by Delos Avery (Jan. 4)
  • February 1, 8, 15, 22
  • March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • April 5, 12, 19, 26
  • May 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • June 7, 14, 21, 28
  • July 5, 12, 19, 26
  • August 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • September 6, 13, 20, 27
  • October 4, 11, 18, 25
  • November 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • December 6, 13, 20, 27
  • "I Must Be Crazy"and "Murder at the Club: A Christmas Fable" by Vincent Starrett (Dec. 6)
  • The Best Loved Books of the 20 th Century: Starrett to Discuss the Potential Classics by Frederic Babcock (Dec. 27)

1954

  • No "Books Alive" column –
  • Starrett wrote a weekly series on "Best Loved Books of the 20th Century," per Karen Murdock

1955

  • January 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • February 6, 13, 20, 27
  • March 6, 13, 20, 27
  • April 3, 10, 17, 24
  • May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • June 5, 12, 19, 26
  • July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • "Books Alive" in the Tribune’s Magazine of Books (July 31)
  • August 7, 14, 21, 28
  • September 4, 11, 18, 25
  • October 16, 23, 30
  • November 6, 20, 27
  • December 4, 11, 18, 25

1956

  • January 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • Vincent Starrett to Autograph Copies of His ’Best Loved Books’ (Jan. 15)
  • February 5, 12, 19, 26
  • March 4, 11, 18, 25
  • April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • May 6, 13, 20, 27
  • June 3, 10, 17, 24
  • July 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • August 5, 12, 19, 26
  • September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • October 7, 14, 21, 28
  • November 4, 11, 18, 25
  • December 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

1957

  • January 6, 13, 20, 27
  • February 3, 10, 17, 24
  • March 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • April 7, 14, 21, 28
  • May 5, 12, 19, 26
  • June 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • July 7, 14, 21, 28
  • August 4, 11, 18, 25
  • September 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • October 6, 13, 20, 27
  • November 3, 10, 17, 24
  • December 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

1958

  • January 5, 12, 19, 26
  • February 2, 9, 16, 23
  • March 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • April 6, 13, 20, 27
  • Starrett Awarded ’Edgar’ by Mystery Writers by Harry Hansen (April 27)
  • May 4, 11, 18, 25
  • June 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • July 6, 13, 20, 27
  • August 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • September 7, 14, 21, 28
  • October 5, 12, 19, 26
  • November 9, 16, 23
  • Magazine of Books-Books That Will Last – Perhaps by Vincent Starrett (Nov. 30)
  • December 7, 14, 21, 28

1959

  • January 4, 11, 18, 25
  • February 1, 8, 15, 22
  • March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • April 5, 12, 19, 26
  • May 3, 17, 24, 31
  • June 7, 14, 21, 28
  • July 5, 12, 19, 26
  • August 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • September 6, 13, 20, 27
  • October 11, 18, 25
  • November 1, 8, 15, 22
  • Christmas Without Books? Impossible! By Vincent Starrett (Nov. 29)
  • December 6, 13, 20, (not published on the 27th)

1960

  • January 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • February 7, 14, 21, 28
  • March 6, 13, 20, 27
  • April 10, 24
  • May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • June 5, 12, 19, 26
  • July 10, 17, 24, 31
  • August 7, 14, 21, 28
  • September 4, 11, 25
  • October 9, 16, 23, 30
  • November 13, 20
  • December 4, 11, 18

1961

  • January 1, 8, 22, 29
  • February 5, 12, 19, 26
  • March 12, 19, 26
  • April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • May 7, 14, 21, 28
  • June 4, 11, 18, 25
  • July
  • August 6, 20, 27
  • September 10, 17
  • October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • November 5, 19
  • December 3, 10, 17, 31

1962

  • January 7, 14, 21
  • February 4, 11, 18
  • March 4, 11, 18, 25
  • April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • May 6, 13, 20, 27
  • June 3, 10, 17, 24
  • July 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • August 5, 12, 19
  • September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • October 7, 14, 21, 28
  • November 4, 11, 18, 25
  • December 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

1963

  • January 6, 13, 20, 27
  • February 3, 10, 17, 24
  • March 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • April 7, 14, 21, 28
  • May 5, 12, 19, 26
  • June 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • July 7, 14, 21, 28
  • August 4, 11, 18, 25
  • September 8, 15, 22, 29
  • October 6, 13, 20, 27
  • November 3, 10, 17, 24
  • December 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

1964

  • January 5, 19, 26
  • February 2, 9, 16, 23
  • March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • April 5, 12, 19
  • May 17, 24, 31
  • June 7, 14
  • July 12, 19, 26
  • August 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • September 13, 27
  • October 4, 11, 18, 25
  • November 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • December 6, 13, 20, 27

1965

  • January 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • February 7, 14, 21, 28
  • March 7, 21, 28
  • April 4, 11, 18, 25
  • May 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
  • June 6, 13, 20, 27
  • July 4, 11, 18, 25
  • August 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
  • September 5, 12, 19, 26
  • October 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • November 7, 14, 21, 28
  • December 5, 12, 19, 26

1966

  • January 2, 9, 23, 30
  • February 6, 13, 20, 27
  • March 6, 13, 20, 27
  • April 3, 10, 17, 24
  • May 1, 15, 22, 29
  • June 5, 12, 19, 26
  • July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
  • August 7, 14, 21, 28
  • September 4, 11, 18
  • October 23, 30
  • November 6, 13, 20, 27
  • December 11, 18, 25

1967

  • January 8, 15, 22, 29
  • February 12, 19, 26
  • March 5, 12, 19, 26
  • April 2, 9, 16
  • May 14, 21, 28
  • June 4, 18, 25
  • July 9, 16, 23, 30
  • August 6, 13, 20, 27
  • September 3 (Last Starrett "Books Alive" column)
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip