Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University: Private Press Collection

A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University

The Private Press Collection

The Private Press Collection

The Private Press Collection is a growing collection of material issued by private presses, particularly in the Midwest. As part of the Art and History of the Book subject holdings, the works held in the collection demonstrate examples of fine printing, fine binding, creative book making, artists' books, or literary works selected for private publication. Our holdings range from renowned presses such as Walter Hamady's Perishable Press and John Martin's Black Sparrow Press, to sculptural books from Flying Fish Press, to fine printing produced for the Limited Editions Club. A master list of all of the presses that we collect can be found below. We also hold archival materials related to the Private Press of John Cumming and the work of Raymond E. Gnat.

Private Presses Collected at NIU

NB: These are presses that we seek out examples from. We don't have comprehensive collections of most of them, and in some cases may only have an example or two, or none at all.

B

C

D

E

  • E. J. Jacob Press - Use: Jacob, E. J., Press
  • Edwin B. Hill Press - Use: Hill, Edwin B., Press.
  • El Soploñ Press - Use: Soploñ Press
  • Elizabeth Press
  • Elm Press
  • Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana (See also: The Ward Ritchie Press)
  • Elmete Press
  • Elston Press
  • Embers Handpress
  • Enigma Press
  • Enitharmon Press
  • Eragny Press
  • Essex House Press
  • Eucalyptus Press
  • Evening Coffee Editions
  • Eyncourt Press

F

  • Fine Editions Press
  • Finial Press
  • Firemark Press
  • Flaming Press
  • Flying Fish Press
  • Folder Editions
  • Folio Press
  • Foolscap Press
  • Fortune Press
  • Four Winds Press
  • Franfrolico Press
  • Fred Totten Phelps Press
  • French Publishing Corp.

G

  • Gardyloo Press
  • Gargoyle - Use: At the Sign of the Gargoyle
  • Gehenna Press
  • George H. Petty, Publisher - Use: Petty, George H., Publisher
  • George Yamada Press - Use: Yamada, George, Press.
  • Georgian Press
  • Giles Press
  • Glad Hand Press
  • Goad Press
  • Gogmagog
  • Golden Cockerell Press
  • Golden Quill Press
  • Gothic Press
  • Grabhorn & Hoyem
  • Grabhorn Press
  • Graywolf
  • Green Mountain Press
  • Greenwood Press
  • Gregynog Press
  • Greville Press
  • Grilled Flowers Press
  • Grolier Club

H

  • Haddon Craftsmen
  • Halfpenny Press
  • Hanuman Books
  • Harris, Douglas M., Publisher.
  • Harry N. Abrams - Use: Abrams, Harry N.
  • Hawthorn House
  • Haywoods, Private Press of the--See Private Press of the Haywoods
  • Hechtshaw Press
  • Herrin News
  • High/Coo Press
  • Hill and Dale Press
  • Hill, Edwin B., Press
  • Hill, Walter M
  • Hogarth Press
  • Holiday Press
  • Holy Cow! Press
  • Home of Books, Inc.
  • Hosanna Press
  • Hours Press
  • House of Ryder Press
  • Howe, W. T .H., Private Press of--Use W.T.H. Howe Press
  • Huet, Roger, Publisher

I

  • Iguana Press
  • Imprint Society (Barre, Mass.)
  • Indiana Kid, Private Press of the--Use: Private Press of the Indiana Kid
  • Iris Press

J

  • Jacob, E. J., Press
  • Janus Press
  • John Cumming Press - Use: Cumming, John, Private Press of
  • Joseph J. D'Ambrosio - Use: D'Ambrosio, Joseph J., Publisher
  • Juniper Press

K

  • Karuba Press
  • Kat Ran Press
  • Keepsake Press
  • Kelmscott Press (what we have)
  • Kindle Press
  • Kings Estate Press
  • Kingsport Press
  • Kitemaug Press

L

  • L. F. White - Use: White, L. F.
  • Lakeside Press.
  • Landlocked Press
  • Langenscheidt
  • Lapis Press
  • Laughing Dragon Press
  • LD's Press of the Bald Eagle
  • Library Associates of the University of California, Davis
  • Limited Editions Club
  • Lord, William Sinclair, Publisher.

M

  • Maclellan, W., Press
  • Macmillan
  • Mailer Press
  • Maizeland Press
  • Markesan
  • Mathew Zimmer Press - Use: Zimmer, Mathew Press
  • Maverick Press
  • Mayhew Press
  • Meadow Press
  • Media Press
  • Merging Media
  • Meriden-Stinehour
  • Merrymount Press
  • Metatron Press
  • Midland Press
  • Midnight Paper Sales Press
  • Miles, William
  • Minuteman Press
  • Molehill Press
  • Monastery Hill Press
  • Moneytree Press
  • Monroe Wheeler Press - Use: Wheeler, Monroe, Press
  • Moremeat Press
  • Morning Star Press
  • Mosher, Thomas B., Press of
  • Muscatene Press

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

N

  • Nemesis Press at Urbana, Illinois
  • Nemesis Press at Hindsboro, Illinois
  • Nevertheless Press
  • New Directions
  • New Rivers Press
  • Nexus Press
  • Night Heron Press
  • Nightowl, Press of the
  • Ninja Press
  • Nonesuch Press
  • Norman Press
  • Normandie House
  • Nova Press

O

  • O'Connell, Bonnie
  • Oak Leaves Press
  • Occetillo Press
  • Old Colony Press
  • Old Swimmin' Hole Press
  • Oldstyle Press
  • Oliphant Press
  • Oliver Press
  • Other Door Printing and Publishing
  • Overbrook Press
  • Oyez Press

P

  • Padell
  • Paine Publishing Company
  • Panache Press
  • Pandora Press
  • Paragon Press
  • Pegacycle Lady, Press of the
  • Penguin Press
  • Penmaen Press
  • Pennyroyal Press
  • Penstemon Press
  • Pentagram Press
  • Penumbra Press
  • Peppercanister Press
  • Peridot Press
  • Perimeter Press
  • Perishable Press Limited
  • Periwinkle Press
  • Perpetua Press
  • Persistence Press
  • Persnickety Press
  • Pentagram Press
  • Peter Pauper Press
  • Petrarch Press
  • Petty, George H., Publisher
  • Phelps, Fred Totten, Private Press of, use: Fred Totten Phelps Press
  • Philosopher Press
  • Pillbox Press
  • Pilot Press
  • Pilot Rock Press
  • Plantin Press
  • Plimpton Press
  • Pocahontas Press
  • Pocket-Knife Press
  • Poetry Press
  • Pony Barn Press
  • Poor Richard Press
  • Porpoise Bookshop
  • Prairie Press
  • Press of A. D. Weinthorp - Use: Weinthorp, A. D., Press of
  • Press of James A. Decker - Use: Decker, James A., Press of
  • Press of the Bald Eagle - Use: LD's Press of the Bald Eagle
  • Press of the Crippled Turtle (what we have)
  • Press of the Nightowl
  • Press of the Pegacycle Lady
  • Press of the Woolly Whale
  • Press of Thomas B. Mosher - Use: Mosher, Thomas B., Press of
  • Press of Ward Schori - Use: Schori Press
  • Presscraft Papers
  • Primavera Press
  • Print Shop
  • Print Society
  • Print Workshop
  • Printery
  • Printing House of Philip Reed
  • Prism Press
  • Private Press and Typefoundry of Paul Hayden Duensing - Use: Duensing, Paul Hayden, Private Press and Typefoundry of
  • Private Press of A.D. Weinthorp - Use: Weinthorp, A.D., Private Press of
  • Private Press of Dave Webb
  • Private Press of Fred Totten Phelps - Use: Fred Totten Phelps Press
  • Private Press of George Yamada - Use: Yamada, George, Private Press of.
  • Private Press of John Cumming (Books; Archival Materials)
  • Private Press of Leonard F. Bahr - Use: Adagio Press
  • Private Press of the Haywoods
  • Private Press of the Indiana Kid
  • Private Press of Thomas C. Russell - Use: Russell, T. C., Private Press
  • Private Press of W. T. H. Howe - Use: W. T. H. Howe Press
  • Private Press of Ward Schori - Use: Schori Press
  • Private Press of Will Bradley - Use: Bradley, Will, Private Press of
  • Proscenium Press
  • Purgatory Pie Press

Q

  • Qara Press
  • Quarto Press
  • Quelquefois Press

R

  • R. R. Donnelly & Sons Co. - Use: Lakeside Press
  • Radell Press
  • Ragnarok Press
  • Rain Press
  • Rain (Wilmette, Illinois) - Use: Rain Press
  • Ralph Fletcher Seymour, Publisher - Use: Seymour, Ralph Fletcher
  • Rampant Lions Press
  • Rampart Press
  • Ransom, Will
  • Rebis Press
  • Red Mountain Editions
  • Red Ozier Press
  • Red Rock Press
  • Redcoat Press
  • Reed, Philip, Printing Office of
  • Renshaw Press
  • Richmond Art Press
  • Ritchie, Ward, Press-- Use: Ward Ritchie Press
  • Rivercrest House
  • Riverside Press
  • Roadside Press
  • Rob Run Press
  • Roger Huet, Publisher - Use: Huet, Roger, Publisher
  • Ronart Press
  • Rose Shell Press
  • Rowfant Club
  • Roycrofters Press
  • Rudge, William Edwin, Printer
  • Russel, Thomas C., Private Press of.

S

  • Sacramento Book Collectors Club
  • SailorBoy Press
  • Salient Seedling Press
  • San Simeon Press
  • Santa Barbara
  • Santa Susanna Press
  • Scarab Press
  • Scarlet Ibis Press
  • Sceptre Press
  • Schori Press
  • Sea Pen Press
  • Seamark Press
  • Secker & Warburg
  • Second Porcupine Press
  • Sequoia Press
  • Seven Arts Press
  • Seymour, Ralph Fletcher
  • Shakespeare Head Press
  • Sherwin Beach Press
  • Sign of the Rolling Stone
  • Signet Press
  • Silken Sledrag
  • Silver Buckle Press
  • Silver Quoin Press
  • Silverado Press
  • Silverado Squatters
  • Society of Dofobs
  • Soploñ Press
  • Southworth Press
  • Southworth-Anthoensen
  • Sparrow Press
  • Spiral Press
  • Spirit That Moves Us Press
  • Spoon River Poetry Press
  • St. Dominic's Press
  • St. Teresa's Press
  • Stevens and Webb
  • Stinehour Press
  • Stone House Press
  • Stone Wall Press
  • Stratford Press
  • Sumac Press
  • Sutton Hoo Press
  • Swallow Press
  • Sylvester & Orphanos

T

  • Tamalpais
  • Targ, William, Publisher
  • Thistle Press
  • Tideline Press
  • Tinhorn Press
  • Tiramisu Press
  • Tommasini Press
  • Toothpaste Press (what we have) (now Coffee-House Press) 
  • Torch Press
  • Toucan Press
  • Town Talk Press
  • Tragara Press
  • Treacle Press
  • Trovillion Private Press
  • Turtle Island, Foundation
  • Twowindows Press
  • Typophiles

U

  • Underwood-Miller
  • Unicorn Press
  • Uranian

V

  • Vagabond Press
  • Vale Press
  • Vanishing Press
  • Village Press
  • Vincent Works Press

W

  • W. Maclellan Press - Use: Maclellan, W. Press
  • W. T. H. Howe Press
  • Wagon & Star Press
  • Wagoner Printing Co.
  • Walpole Printing Office
  • Walter M. Hill - Use Hill, Walter M.
  • Ward Ritchie Press
  • Water Tower Press
  • Wayside Press (what we have)
  • Webb, Dave, Private Press of
  • Weinthorp, A. D., Private Press of
  • Wheeler, Monroe, Press.
  • White, L. F.
  • William Edwin Rudge, Printer - Use: Rudge, William Edwin, Printer.
  • William Miles - Use: Miles, William.
  • William Sinclair Lord - Use: Lord, William Sinclair, Publisher.
  • William Targ, Publisher - Use: Targ, William, Publisher.
  • Willow Press
  • Wind-Tryst Press
  • Windhover Press
  • Windsor Press
  • Womens' Studio Workshop
  • Woodbine
  • Woolly Whale, Press of the--Use: Press of the Woolly Whale
  • Works, Vincent, Press

Y

Z

  • Zasterle Press
  • Zimmer, Mathew, Press
  • Zonne & Company

Subject Guide

Sarah Cain's picture
Sarah Cain
Contact:
RBSC: 815.753.0255; Regional History Center: 815.753.9394