Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University: RBSC Fellowships

A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University

Fellowships

Horatio Alger Fellowship for the Study of American Popular Culture
Northern Illinois University

The University Libraries, Northern Illinois University, invite applications for the Horatio Alger Fellowship for the Study of American Popular Culture. Funding is available to scholars who will be using materials from the Libraries’ major holdings in American popular culture. These holdings include the Albert Johannsen and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections of more than 50,000 dime novels, and the nation’s preeminent collections related to Horatio Alger, Jr., and Edward Stratemeyer. Eligible collections also include our comic book, science fiction and fantasy literature, and American Popular Literature Collections. Topics which could draw on the collections’ strengths might include the plight of urban children, image of the American West in popular literature, widespread use of pseudonyms, and stereotypical portrayals. Preference will be given to applicants who signify an interest in conducting research related to Horatio Alger, Jr.

The 2017 Fellowship award consists of a $2000 stipend. 

Candidates should submit a letter of interest, a curriculum vitae, a brief proposal for their research, and two letters of recommendation to: Lynne M. Thomas, Head, Rare Books and Special Collections, University Libraries, Horatio Alger Fellowship, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL 60115-2868. Electronic applications may be emailed to lmthomas@niu.edu

The deadline for applications is May 31, 2017, with research taking place between July 1 and December 31, 2017.

Unfortunately, due to state and university regulations, this award is available to US residents only.

Subject Guide

Lynne Thomas
Contact:
http://lynnemthomas.com (Personal Blog)
Website / Blog Page