Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University: Comic Books Collection

A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University

Comic Books Collection

The comic book collection is based around several large donations from collectors. Much of our comic book collection dates from the 1970s forward, with particular strength in the 1990s. We do not hold a significant number of Golden Age or Silver Age comics. A large portion of the collection is minimally processed, and there are gaps in runs of titles. We continually add to this collection, chiefly through donations. Recent acquisitions include full runs of Strangers in Paradise and Cerebus in trade paperback format, and autographed copies of a short Scary Godmother run in single issues. We also have a small but growing cache of original comic art. A listing of our original art holdings can be found in the right-hand column on this page.

This collection is not fully cataloged. To see which titles we hold, you'll need to consult our comic book titles list as well as our online catalog, searching "Comic Book Collection" in Any Word Anywhere. Trade paperbacks are more likely to be in the online catalog, while single issues are more likely to be on our titles list.

A new addition to our collection is access to the Underground and Independent Comics database, newly subscribed to by the library. (Unfortunately, due to our vendor contract, this resource is limited to members of the NIU community who have Novell IDs). Also, be sure to check out the Flickr set from the 2010 exhibitionHeroes, Villains, and the American Zeitgeist, which was held in the NIU Art Museum.

Comics held in RBSC by Title A-L

B

C

    D

    E

    F


    Numerical Titles | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


    G

    • Gals (Wildstorm)
    • Garfield. Selections.
    • Gemma Bovery 
    • Genesis (DC Comics)
    • Ghost Rider (Marvel Comics)
    • Ghost Rider Blaze Spirits of Vengeance (Marvel Comics)
    • Ghost World (Fantagraphics) [Trade]
    • Ghosts (National Periodical Publications)
    • Giant Size (Marvel Comics)
    • Giant-Size Chiller (Marvel Comics)
    • Giant-Size Conan (Marvel Comics)
    • Go-go (Charlton Comics Group)
    • Godzilla (Marvel Comics)
    • Golden Age, The (DC Comics) [Trade]
    • Grease Monkey
    • Green Arrow (DC Comics)
    • Green Arrow: The Longbow Hunters (DC Comics)
    • Green Arrow: The Wonder Year (DC Comics)
    • Green Lantern (DC Comics)
    • Grifter (Image Comics)
    • GrimJack (IDW Publishing)
    • Grrl Scouts  (Oni Press) [Trade] 
    • Guardians of the Galaxy (Marvel Comics)
    • Gundam Seed: Mobile Suit

    H

    I

    • Immortal Doctor Fate, The (DC Comics)
    • Inferno (DC Comics)
    • Inhumans, The (Marvel Comics)
    • Invaders, The (Marvel Comics)
    • Iron Fist (Marvel Comics)
    • Iron Man (Marvel Comics)
    • It's a Good Life, If You Don't Weaken (Drawn and Quarterly)

    J

    • Jack Kirby's New Gods (DC Comics) [Trade]
    • JLA: Heaven's Ladder (DC Comics) [Trade]
    • JLA: Year One (DC Comics) [Trade]
    • John Byrne's Next Men (Dark Horse Comics)
    • John Carter: Warlord of Mars (Marvel Comics)
    • John Carter: Warlord of Mars Annual (Marvel Comics)
    • John Derek in Mask of the Avenger (Fawcett Publications)
    • Johnny Thunder (National Periodical Publications)
    • Joker, The (National Periodical Publications)
    • Jughead (Archie Comic Publications)
    • Jughead Jones Comics Digest (Archie Comics)
    • Jungle Action and Black Panther (Marvel Comics)
    • Justice Inc. (National Periodical Publications)
    • Justice League of America (National Periodical Publications)
    • Justice League of America: Another Nail (DC Comics)

    K

    • Ka-zar (Marvel Comics)
    • Ka-zar the Savage (Marvel Comics)
    • King Richard and the Crusaders (Dell)
    • Knights of the Round Table (Dell)
    • Kobra (National Periodical Publications)
    • Kondo Komics (S.n: fanzine comic)
    • Kong The Untamed (National Periodical Publications)
    • Korak Son of Tarzan (Edgar Rice Burroughs) (National Periodical Publications )
    • Kull and the Barbarians (Curtis)
    • Kull the Conqueror (Marvel Comics)
    • Kurt Busiek's Astro City (Homage Comics) [Trade]

    L


    Numerical Titles | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

    Comics held in RBSC by Title M-Z


    M

    • Madara (Wildstorm)
    • Man bat (National Periodical Publications)
    • Man Called Nova, The (Marvel Comics)
    • Man Thing (Marvel Comics)
    • The Manly World of Lloyd Llewellyn (Fantagraphics)
    • Marvel Adventure (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Chillers (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Feature (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Graphic Novel (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Masterworks Presents (Marvel Comics) The Avengers X-Men
    • Marvel Premiere (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Premiere Iron Fist (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Presents (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Special Edition (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Super Heroes (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Tales Starring Spiderman (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Team Up Spiderman and Others (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Treasury Edition (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Treasury Special (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Triple Action (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Two in One (Marvel Comics)
    • Marvel Two in One Annual (Marvel Comics)
    • Megalith Deathwatch 2000 (Continuity Publishing)
    • Metal Men (National Periodical Publications)
    • Mickey Mouse (Dell)
    • Micronauts (Marvel Comics Group)
    • Midnight Ink (UIUC)
    • Mighty Mouse Comics (Timely)
    • Mighty Thor, The (Marvel Comics)
    • Millie the Model (Vista)
    • Mister Miracle (National Periodical Publications)
    • Motion Picture Comics (Fawcett Publications)
    • Mr. Punch (DC/Vertigo) [Trade]
    • Musashi
    • My Love (Magazine Management Company)
    • My Troubles with Women (R. Crumb, Last Gasp)
    • Mystery Play, The (DC Comics/Vertigo)

    N

    • Namor The Sub Mariner (Marvel Comics)
    • Negima 
    • Neon Lit: Paul Auster's City of Glass (Avon Books)
    • New Adventure's of Abraham Lincoln (Image Comics/Homage Comics)
    • New American Splendor Anthology [H. Pekar] (Four Walls Eight Windows)
    • New Gods, The (National Periodical Publications)
    • New Warriors Annual, The (Marvel Comics)
    • New Warriors, The (Marvel Comics)
    • Night Rider (Marvel Comics)
    • Nightshade (No Mercy Comics)
    • Ninjak Yearbook (Valiant)
    • Not Brand Echh (Marvel Comics)
    • Notes for a War Story 

    O

    • OMAC One Man Army (National Periodical Publications)
    • Omega The Unknown (Marvel Comics)
    • Original Swamp Thing Saga, The (National Periodical Publications)
    • Our Gang with Tom and Jerry (Dell)

    P

    Q

    R


    Numerical Titles | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


    S

    T

    U

    • U.S. 1 (Marvel Comics)
    • Ultimate Iron Man (Marvel Comics)
    • Ultimate Spider-man (Marvel Comics)
    • Uncanny X-Men (Marvel Comics) [From the Ashes (Trade)]
    • Unexpected, The (National Periodical Publications)

    V

    • V for Vendetta (DC/Vertigo) [Trade]
    • Valiant Reader (Valiant & Western Publishing Company)
    • Vengeance of Vampirella (Harris Publications)
    • Viking Prince (National Periodical Publications)
    • Violent Cases (Kitchen Sink Press)
    • Visionaries: Frank Miller (Marvel Comics) Vol 1, 2

    W

    X

    • X-cutioners Song (Marvel Comics) [Trade]
    • X Factor (Marvel Comics)
    • X Force (Marvel Comics)
    • X Force Annual (Marvel Comics)
    • X Man (Marvel Comics)
    • X Men Classics (Marvel Comics)
    • X Men (Marvel Comics)
    • X Men Annual (Marvel Comics)
    • X-tinction Agenda (Marvel Comics) [Trade]
    • Xenozoic Tales 9-12 Trade (Kitchen Sink Press)
    • xxxholic 

    Y

    •  Y the Last Man (DC Comics) [Trades]

    Z

    Subject Guide

    Sarah Cain's picture
    Sarah Cain
    Contact:
    815.753.0255

    Original Comic Art held in RBSC

    Original Comic Art And Comics-related materials

    In the Northern Illinois University Rare Books and Special Collections Department

    Last Updated: October 5, 2004

    Original art in this collection consists of hand-drawn and lithographic reproductions of art created by individual artists and writers, and donated to the Comic Book Collection. We are continuing to add to this collection whenever possible.

    Many of these materials are the generous gift of Michael Damian Thomas.

    Artists and Writers List:

    • Aragonés, Sergio. [Sketch of Groo from Groo the Wanderer]. "To Cherish and Michael." [1997]. Ink on white paper. Drawn 1997 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Bachalo, Chris. [Autograph and "X-men" symbol.]. Ink on white paper. Drawn 1998 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Dillon, Steve. [Sketch of John Constantine from Hellblazer, autographed by Dillon.] Ink on white paper. Drawn 1998 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Ennis, Garth and Steve Dillon. Preacher. [Promotional poster]. Signed by Garth Ennis. [1995]. 34 ½ x 22".
    • Gross, Peter (1958- ). ["Timothy Hunter" from Books of Magic]. Ink on white paper. Drawn August 14, 2004 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Kubert, Adam. [Autograph]. Ink on white paper. Drawn 1998 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Moore, Terry (1954- ). ["Francine" from Strangers in Paradise]. Lithograph. 2004. 12 ¼ x 17". Gift of Terry and Robyn Moore, Received 8/16/2004. Inscribed by the artist, "To Lynne [Thomas], Terry Moore, ’04.
    • Moore, Terry (1954- ). ["Katchoo" from Strangers in Paradise]. Lithograph. 2004. 12 ¼ x 17". Gift of Terry and Robyn Moore, Received 8/16/2004. Inscribed by the artist, "To Lynne [Thomas], Terry Moore, ’04.
    • Seagle, Steve and Teddy Kristiansen. "I will not live in a House of Secrets." [sketch, autographed by Seagle and Kristiansen]. Ink on white paper. Drawn 1998 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Sim, Dave (1956- ), and Eddie Campbell (1955- ). Cerebus souvenir of Ozcon 1996; Bacchus is 4,000 years old this year. [Souvenir lithograph from Ozcon 5, featuring Cerebus and Bacchus]. Lithograph. 8 ½ x 11".
    • Smith, Jeff (1960- ). "To Michael!" [sketch of Bone, autographed.]. Drawn 1998 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".
    • Thompson, Jill (1966- ). ["Max" from Scary Godmother]. Ink on pink paper. Drawn August 14, 2004 (at WizardWorld Chicago Comics Convention) 8 ½ x 11".