Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University: Authors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC

A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University

Authors and Illustrators that We Collect

In all of our author-based collections, we try to collect as comprehensively as possible from their work, materials both by and about our selected authors. Some of the author collections include manuscript materials as well; these are denoted with a *.

Edward Ardizzone (1900-1979): British author and illustrator. [works by Ardizzone held in RBSC]

William Blake (1757-1827): British poet and illustrator. [Blake materials held in RBSC]

Robert Burns (1759-1796): Scottish poet. [Burns materials held in RBSC]

George Gordon Byron, Lord Byron (1788-1824): English Romantic Poet. [Byron materials held in RBSC]

Alan Denson (b. 1930)*: British author, known for his book Letters from AE. This collection contains some 36 books and several envelopes of manuscripts and letters relating to 20th-Century Anglo-Irish writers, including George Russel and A.E. Denson's correspondence with writers and notes are indexed. Some materials have restricted use. Books from this collection can be found in the Online Catalog; a finding aid for the manuscripts is available as a PDF.

Bruce Dickins (1889-1978): Well-known professor of Anglo-Saxon and bibliographer at Cambridge. This collection includes his manuscript archive and a handful of books.

John Dos Passos (1896-1970): American novelist. [Dos Passos materials held in RBSC]

Graham Greene (1904-1991): British novelist. [Greene materials held in RBSC]

James Hanley (1901-1985)*: British novelist. A collection of manuscripts (some unpublished) and most editions of the books by James Hanley (1901-1985). The collection is indexed with a finding list in the Rare Books & Special Collections Department. There is also an inventory available as a .pdf file.

H.P. Lovecraft (1890-1937)*: American novelist. [Lovecraft materials held in RBSC]

Willard Motley (1909-1965)*: African-American novelist from Chicago. A finding aid for his papers, held here at NIU, is available.

Vincent Starrett (1886-1974): Chicago Renaissance journalist, mystery, and suspense writer. [Starrett materials held in RBSC]

Jeremy Taylor (1613-1667): Anglican bishop and theologian. [Jeremy Taylor materials held in RBSC]

Walt Whitman (1819-1892): American poet. [Whitman materials held in RBSC]

Angus Wilson (1913-1991): British novelist and essayist.

William Wordsworth (1770-1850): British poet. [Wordsworth materials held in RBSC]


Subject Guide

Sarah Cain's picture
Sarah Cain
Contact:
815.753.0255