Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
Previous SFWA Officers Listing
This is the "H.P. Lovecraft Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

H.P. Lovecraft Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Useful H.P. Lovecraft Reference Books

Burleson, Donald R. H.P. H.P. Lovecraft: Four Decades of Criticism . Edited by S.T. Joshi. Athens , Ohio : Ohio University Press, 1980. Rare Books Reference PS 3523.O833 Z66 1980a

Lord of a Visible World: An Autobiography in Letters . Edited by S.T. Joshi and David E. Schultz. Athens , Ohio : Ohio University Press, 2000. Main Collection PS 3523.O833 Z48 2000

Joshi, S.T. H.P. Lovecraft and Lovecraft Criticism: An Annotated Bibliography . The Serif Series, No.38. Kent , Ohio : Kent State University Press, 1981. Rare Books Reference PS 3523.O833 Z692 1981a

Joshi, S.T. The Annotated H.P. Lovecraft . New York , NY : Dell Publishing, 1997. Main Collection PS 3523.O833 A6 1997b

Joshi, S.T. A Dreamer and a Visionary: H.P. Lovecraft in his Time . Liverpool : Liverpool University Press, 2001. Main Collection PS 3523.O833 Z764 2001

Levy, Maurice. Lovecraft: A Study in the Fantastic . Translated by S.T. Joshi. Detroit , MI : Wayne State University Press, 1988. Main Collection PS 3523.O833 Z7313 1988

Shreffler, Philip A. The H.P. Lovecraft Companion . Westport , Connecticut : Greenwood Press, 1977. Main Collection PS 3523.O833 Z86

 

H.P. Lovecraft Collection

H.P. Lovecraft in 1915. Image: Wikimedia Commons

Howard Philips Lovecraft, ca. 1890-1937

(Image source: Wikimedia Commons)

H.P. Lovecraft has been called one of the greatest weird fiction and fantasy writers of his time and of today. He has also been noted for his influence on the imagination. Most of his work was published only in pulp and science magazines until after his death in 1937. It was at this time that August Derleth and Donald Wandrei, friends of Lovecraft and founders of Arkham House, began publishing his stories. Lovecraft's work has also been translated into many languages including French, German, Italian, and Japanese.

The Lovecraft Collection at Northern Illinois University Library's Rare Books and Special Collections was acquired some time in the late 1960s. Most of the collection was purchased by the library. Other items have been donated from collectors and libraries. The collection consists of Lovecraft's fiction writing, letters, poems, scientific articles, pulp magazine stories, books about Lovecraft, collections of Lovecraft stories, titles of books known to have lived in Lovecraft's personal library, and a few miscellaneous items, including several manuscript letters.

The largest Lovecraft collection can be found at the John Hay Library at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. Although the NIU Library's Lovecraft collection is small in comparison to that of theJohn Hay Library, one can find examples of every aspect of his work. The Lovecraft Collection at NIU is complemented by our Science Fiction Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lynne M. Thomas
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip