Policies
Anatomy of a BookArtists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksCollational Exercises (ENGL 601)From Manuscript to PrintHistory of TypographyThe Medieval BookPrivate Press CollectionPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary Romance
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Anatomy of a BookAmerican Literature to 1830American GirlhoodsAmerican Literature 1830-1865American Literature 1865-1900American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Early American Literature (ENGL 330)Collational Exercises (ENGL 601)The EnlightenmentFrom Manuscript to PrintLetters and Journals in RBSC (ENGL 103)History of TypographyIntroduction to GLBT StudiesNineteenth Century Best SellersThe Medieval BookPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceRenaissance EssayScience Fiction SamplerShakespeareTransatlantic LiteratureTheater ResourcesWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementENGL 707 RyanMid 19th Century Periodicals (ENGL 200)Arthurian Literature ENGL 420HIntro to Special Collections (ENGL)ENGL 381HENGL 375Restoration Literature
American GirlhoodsThe EnlightenmentHistory 295History OverviewHistory of TypographyIntroduction to Black StudiesIntroduction to GLBT StudiesThe Medieval BookPaleographyWorld's Fair MaterialsIntroduction to American Indian History (HIST 370)US History overview
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Music-Related Materials in RBSCShakespeareTheater Resources
American GirlhoodsPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceScience Fiction SamplerWorld's Fair Materials
Artists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksThe Medieval BookWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementWorld's Fair Materials
American GirlhoodsAmerican Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Introduction to GLBT Studies
American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Introduction to Black Studies
This is the "The Enlightenment" page of the "Class Visits to Rare Books and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lists of materials for specific classes that have visited RBSC. Click on the tabs for your subject areas
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rbscclassvisitguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

The Enlightenment Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Enlightenment

These are materials held in RBSC that serve as examples of the types of materials related to the Enlightenment available in the Rare Book Room. Students have an opportunity to practice the proper handling of early materials, as well as gain an understanding of the experience of reading during the Enlightenment. To request a class visit, please email the Curator.

Locke, John, 1632-1704. An essay concerning humane understanding. In four books. Written by John Locke, gent. The second edition, with large additions. London, Printed for Awnsham and John Churchill, and Samuel Manship MDCXCIV [1794]. Rare Books Collection B1290 1694

Locke, John, 1632-1704. Two treatises of government: in the former, the false principles, and foundation of Sir Robert Filmer, and his followers, are detected and overthrown. The latter is an essay concerning the true original, extent, and the end of civil government. London, A. Churchill, 1690. Rare Books Collection JC153 .L81698

Locke, John, 1632-1704. The works of John Locke Esq. : in three volumes, which follow in the next leaf with alphabetical tables. 3rd. ed. London : Printed for Arthur Bettesworth, at the Red Lion, in Pater-noster-Row ; Edmund Parker, at the Bible and Crown, in Lombard-Street ; John Pemberton at the Buck, in Fleet-Street ; and Edward Symon against the Royal-Exchange in Cornhill, 1727. Rare Books Oversize B1253 1727A v. 1-3

Locke, John, 1632-1704. An essay concerning human understanding. In four books. Written by John Locke, gent. The third edition. London: Printed for Awntham and John Churchill...and Samuel Manship, 1695. Rare Books Collection B1290 1695

Locke, John, 1632-1704. The works of John Locke, esq; in three volumes. Thecontents of which follow in the next leaf. With alphabetical tables. The second edition. London, Printed A. Churchill, and A. Manship, and sold by W. Taylor, 1740. Rare Books Collection B1253 1722 v. 1-3

Pope, Alexander, 1688-1744. An Essay on Man. LONDON, 1733. Rare Books Collection PR3627 .A1 1733G 

Pope, Alexander, 1688-1744. An Essay on Man : in epistles to a friend : epistle II. London : Printed for J. Wilford, [1733]. Rare Books Collection PR3627.A1 1733 IA 

Paine, Thomas, 1737-1809. Common sense ; addressed to the inhabitants of America, on the following interesting subjects : I. Of the origin and design of government in general, with concise remarks on the English constitution ; II. Of monarchy and hereditary succession ; III. Thoughts on the present state of American affairs ; IV. Of the present ability of America, with some miscellaneous reflections. A new edition with several additions in the body of the work ; to which is added an appendix ; together with an address to the people called Quakers. N. B. ; the new addition here given increases the work upwards of one-third. Philadelphia printed ; London : Re-printed, for J. Almon, 1776. Rare Book Collection E211.P1311776 ATITLEA

Voltaire, 1694-1778. Histoire de Charles XII. English. The history of Charles XII, king of Sweden / by Mr. de Voltaire ; translated from the French. The fifth edition. London : Printed for C. Davis, and A. Lyon, and sold by T. Astley at the Rose over-against the North Door of St. Pauls, 1732. Rare Books Collection DL 732 V62 1733 

Voltaire, 1694-1778. A treatise on religious toleration. Occasioned by the execution of the unfortunate John Calas; unjustly condemned and broken upon the wheel at Toulouse, for the supposed murder of his own son. Translated from the French of Mr. de Voltaire, by the translator of Eloisa, Emilius, &c. London, Printed for T. Becket and P. A. de Hondt, 1764. Rare Books Collection BR 1610 .V62 1764

Voltaire, 1694-1778. La Mort de Cesar, Tragedie par M. Voltaire de L'Academie Francoise. Nouvelle Edition. A Amsterdam; Aux depens de la Compagnie. M. DCC. L. 43 p. 19 cm. Rare Books Collection PQ2077 .M7 1750

Voltaire, 1694-1778. An essay upon the civil wars of France, : extracted from curious manuscripts. : And also upon the epick poetry of the European nations, from Homer down to Milton. By Mr. de Voltaire ... The second edition, corrected by himself. London; : Printed for N. Prevost and Comp. ..., 1728. Rare Books Collection PQ2086 .E8 1728

Diderot, Denis, 1713-1784. Lettre sur les aveugles a l'usage de ceux qui voyent. A Londres : [s.n.], MDCCXLIX. Rare Books Collection PQ1979 .A655 

Encyclopédie. English. Selections. Select essays from the Encyclopedy, being the most curious, entertaining and instructive parts of that very extensive work, written by Mallet, Diderot, d'Alembert and others, the most celebrated writers of the age. London, Printed for S. Leacroft, 1772. Rare Books Collection AE25 .E5321772A

Montesquieu, Charles de Secondat, baron de, 1689-1755. Persian letters. Tr. by Mr. Ozell. 2d ed. London, J. Tonson, 1730. Rare Books Collection PQ2011.L5 E51730

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip