Guide Outline
II. Federal Legislative Branch Resources
B. U.S. Code
C. Legislative History Sources
D. Legislative History Research Guides
III. Federal Courts & Case Law
B. Other Federal Court Opinions
IV. Federal Administrative Law Resources
A. Regulations
C. Presidential Materials: Subscription Databases
V. Illinois
C. Regulations
VII. Free Legal Forms
VIII. Research Guides
A. Law Library Research Guides
B. Legislative History Research Guides
IX. Dictionaries, Acronyms, Directories
A. Legal Dictionaries & Glossaries
B. Acronyms
C. Directories
Selected Bibliography
Ard, Constance. "Legal Research in the Age of Open Law," Online (Oct. 2010), 34(5): 29-32.
Chandler, Yvonne J. "Accessing Legal and Regulatory Information in Internet Resources and Documents," Journal of Library Administration (2006), 44 (1/2): 263-324.
Ebbinghouse, Carol. "The New Surge of Open Legal Information on the Internet," Searcher (June 2008), 16(6): 8-16.
________. "The People's Law: Free Legal Help and Legal Research on the Web," Searcher (April 2006), 14(4): 38-44.
Markoff, John. "A Quest to Get More Court Rulings Online, and Free," New York Times, Aug. 20, 2007: 6.
Pike, George H. "Evaluating Free Online Legal Information," Online (Sept/Oct. 2008), 32(5): 20-23.
Introduction
The primary focus of this guide is to spotlight free (or low cost) online legal resources. Sources available through Westlaw or Lexis are not included, except for LexisNexis Academic Universe, which is not the same as the Law School's Lexis Nexis Subscription. However, please note that I have included subscription databases available to the NIU community. Lastly, except for the short selected bibliography on this page, print resources are not covered.
For access to the full versions of Lexis or WestLaw, or legal research questions, please visit NIU's Law Library.
SCALL's Locating the Law
The new edition of Locating the Law: A Handbook for Non-Law Librarians is freely available for download in its entirety or one may view individual chapters and appendices. Below is the table of contents.
Chapter 1: Introduction
Chapter 2: How to Read a Legal Citation
Chapter 3: Basic Legal Research Techniques
Chapter 4: Legal Reference vs. Legal Advice
Chapter 5: California Law
Chapter 6: Bibliography of California Resources
Chapter 7: Federal Law
Chapter 8: Bibliography of Federal Law Resources
Chapter 9: Assisting Self-Represented Litigants
Chapter 10: Bibliography of Self-Help Resources
Chapter 11: Availability, Accessibility and Maintenance of Legal Collections
Chapter 12: Major Law Publishers
Appendix A: Glossary of Legal Terms
Appendix B: California County Law Libraries
Appendix C: California Law Schools
Other Legal Research Sites
These "one stop shopping" sites provide users with a myraid of links to law-related materials on the Internet. They provide users with a catalog of Web sites, a search engine or both.
- Hieros Gamos
- WashLaw
- vLex
- Megalaw.com
- Internet Legal Research Group
- American Law Sources Online
- CataLaw
None of these sites are featured extensively in this guide but are worth a mention. Their aim is to expand public access to legal information.
- Public.Resource.org
- Google Scholar (select Legal Opinions & Journals)
- OpenJurist
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Founders Memorial 311 Telephone Number: 815-753-0991 Office Hours By Appointment Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Accounting, Business, Finance, Information Systems, Marketing, Management, Operations Management |
Quick Links
The following Web sites are referenced throughout this guide.
Other Guides
- Georgetown's Free & Low Cost Legal Research Guide
- Pace's Free & Low Cost Resources for Legal Research
- The Law Student Guide to Free Legal Research on the InternetSarah Glassmeyer, sponsored by Cornell's Legal Information Institute and Justia and is hosted by CALI.
- AALL's Public Library ToolkitGeared toward public librarians, but helpful to all users new to legal research. State-specific toolkits and other helpful links.


Loading...
