The majority of individuals that come to the Regional History Center are asked by professors to cite using the Chicago Manual of Style. The following examples demonstrate the Chicago Style, which can be used as a guideline for another style of preference.
When using Chicago Manual of Style to document items from the Regional History Center it is important to note that there is a difference between notes (foot or end) and bibliography citations.
Citations occurring in your text as foot or end notes list the item title as the first element.
[Item Title], [Date], [Series Title (if applicable)], [box 3], [folder 3], [Collection Number], [Collection Name], [Depository Name].
Letter to J.F. Glidden from Superior Barbed Wire Co., 29 February 1896, Glidden House, box 1, folder 12, RC 6, J. F. Glidden Papers, Regional History Center at Northern Illinois University.
Student Affairs Newsletter, 1973, box 1, folder 8, UA 39, Student Affairs Office, Regional History Center at Northern Illinois University.
Citations within a bibliography list the collection title first, followed by the author and repository name.
[Collection Name], [Collection Author (if applicable)], [Depository Name].
Glidden , J. F., Papers, Regional History Center at Northern Illinois University.
Student Affairs Office, Regional History Center at Northern Illinois University.
Notice that in the first example, the formal name "Glidden" was listed first to aid in clarity for the reader. All entries should be listed alphabetically.
Consult the Chicago Manual of Style1 for further direction, or review citations of the National Archives website which can be amended to fit the resources you used.
Additional helpful resources include the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style and Founders Library's How Do I Cite It?" webpage.
Please contact us if you have any additional questions concerning citations: (815) 753-1779
