Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rock'in the Vote: 100 Years of Women's Suffrage in Northern Illinois: Home

Artifacts showing the impact of women's voting rights within Northern Illinois University and the surrounding regions.

Rock'in the Vote: 100 Years of Women's Suffrage in Northern Illinois

The items in the Rock'in the Vote: 100 Years of Women's Suffrage in Northern Illinois exhibit are from the archives of the Regional History Center located at Northern Illinois University.

October is Illinois Archives Month! To participate in this celebration, the Regional History Center at Northern Illinois University is pleased to announce we will be showcasing suffrage related material throughout the month of October. On June 26, 1913, Illinois became the first state east of the Mississippi where women won the right to vote in local and presidential elections. To commemorate this historic event, the Illinois State Archives has chosen “Celebrating 100 Years of Women’s Suffrage” as the theme for Archives Month 2013. By showcasing suffrage material from the university archives and regional collections, the Regional History Center hopes to demonstrate how women’s voting rights have impacted Northern Illinois University and the surrounding region. Be sure to check our Facebook and Flickr pages throughout the month of October for photos, documents, and even some suffrage trivia questions. We start posting highlights from our collection October 1st!

For more information, please contact: NIU Regional History Center and University Archives 815.753.1779

This exhibit was created by the staff of the Regional History Center, a unique component of the Northern Illinois University’s commitment to education, research, and public service.The Center’s goal is toacquire, preserve, and make available to the public the most significant historical records of the northern Illinois region.  The Center actively collects historical material from the 18 northernmost counties of Illinois, excluding Cook.  Since 1964 the Center has evolved from a small university archive to a multifaceted research center containing three related sets of historical records available to researchers: Regional Collections, University Archives, and Local Governmental Records.

Archives Alive!

Regional History Center and University Archives