Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Interlibrary Loan: Information Delivery Services: Policy

This guide describes the interlibrary loan services of NIU's library.

PURPOSE

PURPOSE

The Information Delivery Services Department provides Northern Illinois University faculty, staff, and students with access to library materials not available in the Northern Illinois University Libraries. The IDS Department also provides materials available in the Northern Illinois University Libraries to other libraries and institutions that do not have access to these materials.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN CODES and AGREEMENTS, and COPYRIGHT LAWS

INTERLIBRARY LOAN CODES and AGREEMENTS, and COPYRIGHT LAWS

Interlibrary loan practices are governed by conditions set forth in international, national, state, regional, and local interlibrary loan codes or agreements. Northern Illinois University Libraries adheres to the following interlibrary loan codes/agreements, and US laws:

Copyright Law of the United States

Title 17, United States Code

International

British Lending Library

Canadian Library System

National

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC)

Interlibrary Loan Code (American Library Association)

OCLC (Online Computer Library Center)

State

ILLINET Interlibrary Loan Code

ILLINET Online Library Resource Sharing Code

CARLI Membership Bylaws

Borrowing Policies

BORROWING POLICIES

Eligibility

Borrower categories 1-3 of the NIU Libraries Circulation Policy, as well as Friends of the NIU Library, are eligible for ILL services. This includes all faculty, staff, students, retired faculty and operating staff, emeritus faculty, and Friends of the Library. Courtesy Card holders are not eligible for Information Delivery Services.

Availability

Books, photocopies of articles, and some microforms are generally available through interlibrary loan.

The following materials usually are not available through interlibrary loan.

  • Rare, archival, or fragile library materials
  • Reference books
  • E-books
  • Whole issues or volumes of periodicals (although older issues and volumes are sometimes available)
  • Some non-book formats including computer software, compact discs, or CD-ROMS
  • Genealogies, textbooks, and other specialized library materials have limited availability

CONFIDENTIALITY OF LIBRARY RECORDS

CONFIDENTIALITY OF LIBRARY RECORDS

All library user records pertaining to the use of interlibrary loan services are confidential. For a more detailed statement on confidentiality of library records consult the University Libraries Confidentiality of Library Records Policy.

GUIDELINES FOR PROVISION OF SERVICES

GUIDELINES FOR PROVISION OF SERVICES

Borrowing Services (i.e., receiving library materials from other libraries)

  1. To initiate a request, an individual must submit the request by using the appropriate electronic form in ILLiad for each item requested.
  2. Complete citations are required, to the extent possible, for each request, and sources of citations are required for article requests.
  3. No telephone requests will be accepted.

Books

  • Individuals will be notified when their interlibrary loan books are available for use or pickup. I-Share books must be picked up within three weeks of arrival. ILLiad books will be sent back to their home institutions by their due dates if they have not been picked up.
  • Borrowers may request renewal of interlibrary loan books; however, renewals are at the discretion of the lending library.
  • Interlibrary loan materials are subject to immediate recall at any time from the lending library. Patrons failing to respond to a recall will have borrowing privileges suspended.
  • Failure to return materials to the IDS office upon the due date or when requested to do so by phone calls or letters will result in denial of all library privileges, including borrowing privileges from other institutions. Denial of library privileges could also be initiated by other institutions both in Illinois and outside of Illinois for non-return of materials and/or for failure to pay fines, processing fees, or for lost or damaged materials.
  • Books or other returnable items borrowed through IDS will not be put on reserve for class purposes.
  • The University Libraries is subject to the interlibrary loan service policies of the lending institution. Users must comply with all restrictions placed on items lent by the lending library. Items marked “In Library Use Only” or “Building Use Only” will be placed on the ILL book shelf in Circulation and checked out from the Circulation Desk. Items marked for “Rare Book Room” or “Special Collections Reading Room Use Only” will be placed in the Rare Books and Special Collections reading room. The item will be available for use only within the reading room.

Periodical Articles

Periodical articles may be supplied as electronic copies stored for a limited time on a library server or as paper copies mailed to the patron. Individuals will be notified of the availability of electronic copies via e-mail.

Patron Responsibilities for Borrowing Services

All library users will be billed by mail through the University’s Bursar’s Office (unless a library user has received an invoice of charges directly from another Illinois institution). The University will bill directly to an individual or an authorized university account. Bills for overdue or lost items will include a non-refundable processing fee of $10 for every item that is billed. Library users are responsible for all charges incurred and subject to the university billing and collection policies. No cash or credit cards are accepted in the IDS office.

INFORMATION FOR BORROWING LIBRARIES

INFORMATION FOR BORROWING LIBRARIES

Fees/Billing Payments

  1. The borrowing library is fiscally responsible for all damages and replacement costs of library materials on loan to them from the NIU Libraries.
  2. Borrowing libraries are subject to the fees as specified in the Appendix. This includes a minimum service charge for filled photocopy requests, photocopy page charges, and fax charges. Exceptions: Borrowing institutions covered under interlibrary loan codes or agreements.
  3. Non-payment of bills may result in the suspension of interlibrary loan services to a borrowing library.

Interlibrary Loan Address:

Northern Illinois University

Founders Memorial Library, Room 127

Information Delivery Services

DeKalb, IL 60115

Interlibrary Loan Telephone: (815)753-9842

Odyssey: 206.107.43.115

NUC Code: IdeKN

Acceptable Methods of Transmission:

OCLC SYMBOL: JNA

ALA form: Yes

Telephone: No

Facsimile?: Yes, 815-753-2003

Fax charge: $5.00 + copy charges (No copy charge for libraries with reciprocal agreement).

Overnight delivery: Yes

Average Turnaround Time

(i.e., average no. of days from receipt of request till shipment of item): 3 days

Books:

Lend in-print books: Yes

Length of Loan: 4 weeks (may be longer for CARLI/I-SHARE patrons)

Renewals: 3 renewals of 4 weeks

New books: Only after 6 months

Minimum charge: Minimum $20, or whatever cost the borrowing library would charge to lend,

whichever is greater

Searching fee: None

Postage charge: No

Periodicals (Lend?):

Bound: Sometimes

Unbound: No

Newspapers:

Bound: No

Unbound: No

Film: Yes

Doctoral Dissertations:

Exceptions: Circulating copy only

Length of loan: 4 weeks

Renewals: 4 weeks

Copies available from:

Our library: Yes

University Microfilms: since 1964

Master’s Theses:

Exceptions: Circulating copy only

Length of loan: 4 weeks

Renewals: 4 weeks

Technical Reports: Yes

Computer Software: No

Government Documents:

U.S.: Yes

Depository since: 1960

U.N.: Yes

Depository since: Not applicable

State: Yes

Depository since: Not applicable

Foreign: Yes

Microforms:

Microfilms: Yes

Microfiche: Yes

Microprint: Yes

Audiovisual Materials:

Films: Yes

Records/CDs: No, except by special arrangement

Audiocassettes: Yes, if in the general collection

Video recordings: Yes

Other (slides, filmstrips, etc.): No, except by special arrangement

Photoduplication Service:

Photo duplication of hardcopy materials: Yes

Charging structure: Minimum $15.00 for 1-50 pages; additional $7.00 for increments of 50

pages. (No copy charge to ILLINET members or libraries with written reciprocal agreement.)

Minimum charge: $15.00, or whatever cost the borrowing institution would charge for lend,

whichever is greater

Handling charge: none

Searching fee: none

Charge for cost estimate: none

Postage charge: No

Hard copies from microforms: Yes

Charging structure: Minimum $15.00 for 1-50 pages; additional $7.00 for increments of 50

pages. (No copy charge to ILLINET members or libraries with written reciprocal agreement.)

Minimum charge: $15.00, or whatever cost the borrowing institution would charge for lend,

whichever is greater

Handling charge: none

Searching fee: none

Charge for cost estimate: none

Postage charge: No

Billing Procedures:

Require prepayment: No

Invoice with item: No

Invoice to follow: Yes

Accept IFM: Yes

Accept IFLA: Yes

Accept Credit Card: No

Replacement fee: $60.00 or the cost of the book, whichever is greater

Packing Requirements for Mailing:

Accept jiffy bags: Yes

Accept boxes only: No

Insurance required: No

Other: none

Service Suspended During Christmas Holidays?

Yes (from approximately Dec. 20 to Jan. 3)

Do We Lend to Foreign Libraries?

Canada: Yes

Australia: Yes

South America: Yes

Europe: Yes

Asia: Yes

Africa: Yes

Are There Any Groups of Libraries for Which We Waive Fees?

ILLINET and LVIS members

Libraries with signed reciprocal agreements

04/16