Political Science: Article Databases

Established in 1962, ICPSR is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Individual data sets--which number in the thousands--cover a broad array of disciplines ranging from Political Science and Economics to Education, Geography, Health, and Sociology. Downloading of data files requires a onetime registration.

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI/ Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of October 2001, approximately 1010 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list is expected to reach 1250 titles by 2002. Coverage 1975-present.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources from the 1980s to the present. Updated daily.

Indexes the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. Some full text links.

The Brennan Center for Justice was founded in 1995 by former law clerks to Justice William J. Brennan, Jr., who served on the Supreme Court from 1956 to 1990. The Brennan Center seeks to continue Justice Brennan’s judicial legacy by advocating for policies that reform, revitalize and defend America’s systems of democracy and equal justice for all. The Brennan Center for Justice Publications database brings the Center’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing provides access to over 200 works published by the Center.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together over 3,000 publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.

Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. With contributions from scholars in the fields of history and political science, this encyclopedia provides students, researchers, and scholars the opportunity to examine the political evolution of the United States from the colonial period to the present day. It identifies and illuminates patterns and interrelations in American political institutions, culture, and behavior.

HeinOnline's GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.

LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time.

The database features a complete searchable archive and one of the countries foremost journals devoted to political and cultural commentary.

ProQuest Congressional Historical Indexes - includes indexes for published hearings, committee prints, and Serial Set content from 1789-1969, as well as indexes for all never-published hearings that have been released by the National Archives and indexed by CIS staff.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

Rand Corporation-- is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis.
RAND focuses on the issues that matter most such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. With a research staff consisting of some of the world's preeminent minds, RAND has been expanding the boundaries of human knowledge for more than 60 years.
As a nonpartisan organization, RAND is widely respected for operating independent of political and commercial pressures. Much of the content throughout the database is freely available as full-text.

Listing of over 6,300 reports and other documents created by presidential advisory bodies. Presidents have created such advisory groups (also called committees, commissions, boards, blue ribbon panels, or task forces) to advise them on particular problems or issues such Pearl Harbor, civil rights, the status of women, the assassination of JFK, the 1967 riots, Iran Contra, HIV/AIDS, the Challenger Space Shuttle accident, and 9/11.