Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Government Publications: Non-governmental & Int'l governmental Organizations

We are the main source to help you find government information in print and online

Non-governmental & Intergovernmental Organizations

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO) Guide — Provides a database of organizations, including the region, subject, and affiliation for each one. Also has links to available websites and related resources.

Non-Governmental Organizations Search — This is a customized Google search that scans over a thousand international and non-governmental organization websites. This site includes the same search engine and provides more information, with links to the top NGO agencies and their websites.

UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs — hosts a searchable NGO database. The search box appears on their homepage and in the upper right corner of each page on the website. Search results can be downloaded in spreadsheet (.xls) format.

International Governmental Organizations — Exhaustive list of organizations. Also maintained by the Government Information, Maps and Data section of Northwestern University Library.

GATT Digital Library — “This site provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994.”

G8 Information Centre — offers news, official documents from summit meetings, along with scholarly writing and analysis, for this organization comprised of the heads of state of the major industrial democracies (France, United States, United Kingdom, Russia, Germany, Japan, Italy and Canada).

ILOSTAT — the world's leading source on labor statistics. From the International Labour Organization.

OECD iLibrary [NIU subscription] -- As described at the site's about page, OECD iLibrary "is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books,  papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data." This site "also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)."

Trade Agreements — View agreements for trade, intellectual property rights, the World Trade Organization (WTO), free trade, and investment treaties. The site also includes exporter's guides for many of the agreements.

World Economic Outlook Database — economic information for countries and regions, from the International Monetary Fund.

World Health Reports — Description from the site: “Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. The main purpose of the report is to provide countries, donor agencies, international organizations and others with the information they need to help them make policy and funding decisions.” The website hosts the annual reports from 1995 to the present.