Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Government Publications: State Government

We are the main source to help you find government information in print and online

State Government Information

State Agency Databases — This site lists databases available online, provided by state government agencies. Some of these databases cannot be found or searched through the usual search engines.

State Archives — This list provides links to archives for the States and contact information via phone, fax, e-mail or webform.

State Blue Books and Encyclopedias — For those US states that have an electronic version of their official manual this page has links to the online copy. Otherwise, this site links to WorldCat to help locate a print copy in a library.

State Statutes — provides links to pages for the Governor, Legislature, state agencies and code for all fifty states.

Govengine.com — This site is a “comprehensive directory of official federal, State, and local government and court links” maintained by Govengine, Inc. a Florida-based non-profit organization.

Links to State Tax Forms — tax forms from the fifty States. This page is maintained by the Federation of Tax Administrators.

State Government: USA.gov — provides links to websites of individual states and territories, and sites related to state and local governments.

State Legislature Websites — from the Library of Congress, this page includes a map and list of US States, the District of Columbia, and Territories with links to legislature websites and other state legislative information.

State Library Websites — this list and image map provide links to the library agencies for all 50 states.

StateList: The Electronic Source for State Publication Lists — This site provides links to catalogs of 32 State Libraries of the United States. The various catalogs list publications from their state governments. Many are full-text electronic documents. It is not clear on the latest visit, if this page is being maintained.

Illinois Government Information

State of Illinois web site — a centralized website for State of Illinois government news and links to agencies.

Illinois General Assembly — this site includes the:

as well information on General Assembly action. The site has a link to Legislator Lookup, which will provide mailing address, phone and FAX numbers, and homepage for Illinois legislators in the General Assembly, US Senators and Representatives in Washington. It will also give information for Illinois statewide officials such as the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, Comptroller and Treasurer. Search is by district, official's name, or street address of the constituent.

Data.Illinois.gov — This innovative portal provides various datasets and maps that can be read by most computers. Data includes directories of healthcare providers organized by various categories, maps related to Illinois highways, and statistics related to health, housing, labor and economic development. There are also related microsites covering health data and information about specific geographic areas: Rockford, Champaign, Belleville and the Chicago South Suburban area.

Descriptive Guide to the Holdings of the Illinois State Archives — this sites hosts a searchable database which contains descriptions of records created by the state government of Illinois and held by the Archives. There are also tabs at the top of the page for browsing the database by agencies, subjects, record groups, and record series.

Illinois Courts — includes opinions, oral arguments, annual and other statistical reports of the State Supreme Court, Appellate Courts and Circuit Courts and many other resources.

Illinois Constitution — full text of the Illinois Constitution of 1970.

Illinois Department of Revenue: Tax Forms/Publications — find tax forms for Illinois.

Illinois Digital Archives — Browse this digital collection of archival material from selected Illinois libraries. Among the types of material you can find here are photographs, ledgers, posters, and sound files from the 19th century to the present. The collection includes detailed records for each item, and a URL if a digitized item is available on another site. This site now includes resources that used to be on the pages for the Electronic Documents Initiative (EDI), and Find-It Illinois.

Illinois Homeland Security — described as “the central resource for information and guidance from the State of Illinois regarding security and emergency-related issues. The site offers information ranging from guidelines for county and municipal governments, to emergency checklists, and links to state and federal websites, making it a key component of state preparedness.”

Illinois State Library — based in the Secretary of State's office, the State Library administers the Illinois Depository Library program and supports the Federal Depository Library program for Illinois Libraries. The State Library also offers vital services to support school and public libraries throughout Illinois.

Interactive Illinois Report Card — test scores and other accountability data for Illinois schools. Organized by school, district, city and county. This site was created by a partnership between NIU and the Illinois State Board of Education.

IPLAN — designed for use in health needs assessments of communities in Illinois, this site offers data on vital statistics at the community and county level.

Local Government Records Database — this site "provides a listing of local government records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository System" (IRAD).

Opioid Data Dashboard -- (NEW!) From the news release: "The Opioid Data Dashboard is an interactive website that offers information on how opioids are affecting people in Illinois.  The dashboard consists of three categories: Morbidity and Mortality, Trends, and Prescription Opioids.  Morbidity and Mortality data includes the rate of fatal and non-fatal opioid overdoses by county, as well as the number of overdoses by zip code.  Trends looks at fatal and non-fatal opioid overdoses by age group, race, sex, and cause (heroin vs. other opioids).  Prescription Opioids includes data on the rate, by county, of opioids being prescribed, as well as the daily average of opioids being prescribed.  It also includes the annual number of total patients being prescribed an opioid and total number of prescriptions issued."

State Government Publications & Forms — including the Illinois Blue Book  and Illinois Handbook of Government.

State of Illinois Telephone Directory — Search State of Illinois agencies by name, telephone number, or agency. Note that the basic search is by agency employee name, but links to telephone number or agency search are on the left side of the page.

USDA's NASS - Illinois Field Office — from the National Agricultural Statistics Service, this site provides statistics for Illinois agriculture, by commodity at the state level, and by crop and livestock at the county level. Also includes publications from the Census of Agriculture and Illinois state publications.

USGS-Illinois Water Science Center Searchable Publications Database — offers keyword and author searches and allows you to generate lists based on general topics, Illinois regions, or report series.