The Government Publication Department is a depository for U.S. federal government publications and Illinois documents. It also includes a sizeable United Nations collection. Our collections and office are located on the second floor of Founders Memorial Library.
Citations & Style Guides | University Libraries @ University of North Texas — not specific to any style guide, this page offers helpful guidelines for identifying the parts of a citation from the source in hand. Includes a helpful tutorial for citing government publications.
Citing Sources, Writing & Avoiding Plagiarism -- NIU Libraries' guide to webpages for help with citations and related resources.
Contact Government — USA.gov provides a central page for contacting the President, Vice President, U.S. Senators and Representatives, State Governors, and includes a directory of contacts for federal government agencies, arranged alphabetically or by topic. Many of these are webforms that you can fill out online, but many sites also include further contact information.
Find lists of State Senators and House members at the Illinois General Assembly website. The lists on these pages can be sorted by any of the column headings, so that you can sort by district to find your Senator or Representative by district.
State of Illinois Telephone Directory — Search State of Illinois agencies by name, telephone number, or agency. Note that the basic search is by agency employee name, but links to telephone number or agency search are on the left side of the page.
Court Locator — This page has a clickable US map to help find US courts and court officials. Detailed information includes phone number, street address and Google map data to court locations.
United States Government Manual — is the official handbook of the federal government. This version is continuously updated, so that the information is current. The Manual provides an organizational chart of the U.S. government and for each agency, it includes a description, lists the personnel and cites the legislation that initially created the agency. For cabinet level departments, the manual includes an organizational chart for that department. For members of Congress only their name, State/Territory/District that they represent, and their room number, are given. Includes links to the House and Senate websites.
Illinois Department of Revenue: Tax Forms/Publications — find tax forms for Illinois.
IRS.gov Forms and Publications — Find US tax forms and publications. This site hosts back-years of forms and publications.
FTA State Tax Forms — clickable map for state tax forms with links to fill out state tax forms online, where available. From the Federation of Tax Administrators.
Government Publications Department
Founders Memorial Library 245
Senior Library Specialist,
Founders Memorial Library 245A
Email Address: firstname.lastname@example.org