Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Mathematics and Statistics: Article Databases

Core Article Databases

MathSci Net   

The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.

American Mathematical Society Journals   

Eight periodicals issued by the Society (including its, Bulletin and Transactions, and Journal as well as specialized works on conformal geometry, computation, electronic research and representation theory) comprise this database. Beginning dates of publication range from 1992 to 1998. Full Text.

ERIC (FirstSearch)   

Focuses on educational resources and research. Over 900,000 citations divided approximately in half between journal literature and references to conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1966 to the present. Full Text.

INSPEC   

Inspec is the world's leading bibliographic database providing comprehensive global coverage of scientific and technical literature in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Inspec contains over 8 million records dating from 1969 and draws upon 3,000 scientific and technical journals and 2,000 conference proceedings for coverage.

International Abstracts in Operations Research   

IAOR Online is a comprehensive, unique and continually growing reference database. It builds on the rich heritage of its counterpart print product, International Abstracts in Operations Research.

JSTOR     

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

Web of Science     

The database allows access to both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. One can locate not only specific articles, but more important explore how specific articles have been treated by the literature in their respective fields. The backfile extends to 1965.

Academic Search Complete     

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Science Direct   

Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct

SpringerLink   

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

Wiley Online Library   

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) e-books

For more than 50 years, SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world' applied mathematics and computational science communities. SIAM' line-up of stellar, prize-winning authors and titles that address both timely and fundamental topics have made SIAM books indispensable to researchers, faculty, and students around the world. Now, for the first time, the SIAM library of over 200 books is available for institutions to offer to their users electronically.

Zentralblatt fur Mathematik und ihre Grenzgebiete   

Is a comprehensive abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Forerunner of Mathematical Reviews coverage extends from 1931 until 1972. The index is reproduced by section in PDF format and therefore is not searchable as a database.

Related Article Databases

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.

Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics: Jahrbuch Database

The database represents a digitized version of the long running index Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik. The index comprehends more than 200,000 citations and coverage dates run from 1868 to 1942.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports: Science and Social Sciences Editions--the former edition contains data from over 5,900 journals in science and technology. The latter includes data from over 1,700 journals in the social sciences. The database can be searched at the individual title level or by subject category, publisher and country/territory.

Google Scholar

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.

Web of Knowledge

Combines the acclaimed Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes (1987 to the present) with additional databases including BIOSIS Previews (1969 to the present), Current Contents (1998 to the present), and Medline (1950 to the present). The database offers a powerful and versatile research platform as well as search and analysis tools that enhance its scholarly value.

ERIC (ProQuest)

Focuses on educational resources and research. Over 900,000 citations divided approximately in half between journal literature and references to conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1966 to the present. Full Text.

Ingenta

An extremely diverse collection of more than 27,000 journal titles. The database contains both full-text and abstracts.

ERIC (via EBSCO)

Focuses on educational resources and research. Over 900,000 citations divided approximately in half between journal literature and references to conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1966 to the present. Full Text.

Current Contents (Institute for Scientific Information)

Furnishes access to the bibliographic information on articles in journals and magazines and the table of contents of journals in the following fields: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Physics. Coverage is 1998 to the present.

ArticleFirst

An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.

General Article Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle provides well-researched and thoughtful analyses of current issues in higher education.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th & 16th editions

This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.

Book Review Index Plus

The database offers a comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications. Coverage is 1965 to the present.

LexisNexis Academic {Lexis}

Contains many of the legal resources found in Lexis Advance. The legal database allows searches of full-text federal, state, and international legal materials, including cases. Also offers a news database which covers the full-text of today's news or allow searches back more than 20 years. The business database offers full-text company news and financial information. The medical database offers full-text and abstracted medical and health information, and the reference database allows searching of general reference sources.

Subject Guide