Skip to main content

Skip navigation

English: Reference Materials

Reference Materials

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) -- For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. 

BIOGRAPHIES

American National Biography Online ANB is a biographical resource on American history and culture. It includes 17,453 original biographies from the print editions in addition to new biographies by leading historians added every three months and quarterly updates incorporating new scholarship and factual information. There are some 80,000 hypertext links. Full Text.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online The database features comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriter, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography : Oxford Dictionary of National Biography--The new and updated database includes 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.

DICTIONARIES

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics -- Fully revised and updated for the second edition, this invaluable work is the most authoritative dictionary of linguistics of its kind available.The dictionary covers every aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), phonetics, formal semantics, and key figures and ideas in linguistics.

Dictionary of American Regional English Dictionary of American Regional English--DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabularyfrom Adams housecat to Zydeco. Contradicting the popular notion that American English has become homogenized, DARE demonstrates that our language still has distinct and delightful local character. Whether we are talking about foods, games, clothing, family members, animals, or almost any other aspect of life, our vocabulary reveals much about who we are. DARE celebrates the color, richness, and evolution of the English language across America.

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics 

Routledge Critical Dictionary of Semiotics & Linguistics 


ENCYCLOPEDIAS (PRINT)

Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England (Wiley-Blackwell) -- Brings together more than 700 articles that cover the people, places, activities, and creations of the Anglo-Saxons.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics - 2nd ed  Esource for researchers, academics, students and professionals in the fields of: linguistics, anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, language pathology, cognitive science, sociology, the law, the media, medicine & computer science.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric -- "The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication." (Description from publication's webpage)

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism -- Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism.

Europe, 1450-1789-- Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics -- "The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies." (Description from publication's website)

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature  (PS21 .E537 2004)

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (PR 19 .O95 2006) No electronic version.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature The database is comprised of three titles Encyclopedia of the Novel, Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction, and The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. The items can be searched and browsed separately, or together as a whole.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Oxford Bibliographies Online: American Literature The scholarly examination of American literature is a popular field of study both in the United States and globally. From postmodern theory to debates about the canon, from slave narratives to comic books, American literature is one of the most active fields in academia today. The field is characterized by the many cultures, religions, and ethnicities that have contributed to the larger American literary tradition over the past 500 years. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and womens studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature--As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today. As such, this area of study invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about every applicable area.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics Is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today's students and scholars. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation The field of Renaissance and Reformation studies, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines including history, the arts, and literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. Besides the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies Renaissance and Reformation is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian Literature Although the study of Victorian literature has a rich and well established critical literature, it remains a highly active field due to its popularity with students and researchers alike, and is constantly responding to the regular emergence of new interpretations and theoretical ideas. In addition to this extensive body of scholarship, the study of Victorian literature has been quick to move online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Rather than sifting through these ever-expanding mountains of information that may or may not yield relevant results, students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.

 

PLOT SUMMARY AND STANDARD CRITICISM RESOURCES

Literature Criticism Online The database represents a composite of five long standing series--Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Shakespearean Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Each of the series can be searched separately or altogether. The net result is that tens of thousands of essays are readily available online.

Masterplots, 4th edition The database furnishes fundamental reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. The essays are in alphabetical order by title, and each includes an annotated bibliography to aid readers in further study.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian Literature Although the study of Victorian literature has a rich and well established critical literature, it remains a highly active field due to its popularity with students and researchers alike, and is constantly responding to the regular emergence of new interpretations and theoretical ideas. In addition to this extensive body of scholarship, the study of Victorian literature has been quick to move online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Rather than sifting through these ever-expanding mountains of information that may or may not yield relevant results, students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.

STYLE GUIDES

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th & 16th editions This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.

Copyright Education & Consultation Program This website serves as a copyright information resource intended for the instructors, researchers, and librarians of Illinois.

Subject Guide