Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University: Music-Related Materials in RBSC

A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University

Music Manuscripts in RBSC

Music Manuscript Collections: A collection of cello music previously held by Raya Garbousova, original manuscripts by Frank Skinner, and other sheet music. Materials in the Garbousova collection of music for cello performance along with some exercises for the cello. There is a particular emphasis on works for solo cello and cello with piano accompaniment. Many items have Ms. Garbousova's annotations and cello bowings. There are a small number of ephemeral materials related to the Cello Congress.

The Frank Skinner Collection consists of musical scores from motion pictures. With one exception, they are all original pencil manuscripts in Skinner's hand. The exception is Magnificent Obsession, which is an ozalid copy of a studio copyist's manuscript. Excepting My Man Godfrey andWritten on the Wind, which are fragments, the scores are believed to be complete representations of all the music Skinner wrote for the respective films.

Music Materials in RBSC

These are materials held in RBSC that serve as examples of primary materials relating to music. Students have an opportunity to learn the proper handling of early materials. To request a class visit, please email the Curator.

Medieval Manuscript Leaves These illuminated leaves, encased in mylar for safe handling, provide a glimpse into manuscript production for a variety of works from 1150 to the early 1400s. Includes an Italian Antiphonal leaf, ca. 1150; to demonstrate rough size of what a ms. music leaf would look like (for sharing).

Vellum Manuscript, ca. 1200. This vellum manuscript, which was originally part of a binding, allows students to feel actual 13th century vellum, and to examine it close up without worry of damage to materials. Manuscripts Collection PA8200.A1 .V444 1200A 

Manuscript, ca. 17--? in vellum binding. Pocket-notebook, with lyrics from 119 songs. Commonplace book? Includes notes on currency conversion as well as lyrics. Rare M 1740 E364 1700za

[Latin Psalter and Liturgical Book]. [England?: s.n., 15--?] Black notation on red staffs. Rare Oversize BX 1980 A2 1500ZA

Catholic Church. Processional Franciscan 1729.Processionale romano-franciscanum ad usum Fratrum Minorum Recollectorum Provinciae Flandriae. Luxemburgi: apud Andream Chevalier, Sacrae Caesareae & Catholicae Majestatis Typographum Biblopolamque, 1729. "The first substantial piece of music printing produced in Luxembourg. Section of the Roman ritual, with snippets from the Missal and Pontifical, antiphons of locally revered saints, and hymns peculiar to the diocese." [from dealer description] Rare BX 2049 F7 P963 1729a

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. [Zauberflo¨te. Vocal score. Italian & German] Die Zauberflo¨te : eine grosse heroisch comische Oper in 2 Acten von W.A. Mozart ; im vollsta¨ndigen Klavier Auszuge mit deutschem und italienischem Texte. Wein : Chemischen Druckerei, [179-?]. 1335 Chemischen Druckerei. Notes: Text by Emanuel Schikaneder. Gift of David H. Sinason. Rare Books Collection M1503. M877 Z3 1790za

The American musical miscellany: a collection of the newest and most appoved [!] songs, set to music. Printed at Northampton, Massachusetts. By Andrew Wright, for Daniel Wright and company. Sold by them, and by S. Butler, in Northampton; by I. Thomas, jun. in Worcester; by F. Barker, in Greenfield: and by the principal booksellers in Boston.-- 1798. This collection consists of 111 songs, numbered I-CXI. In a note "To the public" the editors state that "A general preference has been given to American productions".The music is printed from movable type. For contents cf. O. G. Sonneck, Bibl. of early secular Amer. music. 1905. Page 29-30 and Page 31-32 interchanged in binding. Rare M 1628 A2 A5

Billings, William. The New-England Psalm-Singer: or, American Chorister. Containing a number of psalm-tunes, anthems, and canons. In four and five parts. Boston: New England. Printed by Edes and Gill, and to be sold by them at their printing office on Queen-Street… [1770]. Rare M 2116 B59 N487x

Colin de Blamont, François, 1690-1760. Les festes grecques et romaines : ballet en musique. Paris : Impr. J. B. C. Ballard, 1723. Notes: Some errors in pagination: p. 171-76."Revû & corrigé par nous, soussignez à Paris ce quinziéme Septembre 1723": [signed in ms.] Collin de Blamont [et] Ballard. Rare M 1520 C697 F4

Hastings, Thomas, 1784-1872. Musica sacra: or Springfield and Utica collections united: consisting of psalm and hymn tunes, anthems and chants: arranged for two, three or four voices, with a figured base for the organ or piano forte. By Thomas Hastings and Solomon Warriner. 4th rev. ed. Utica, W. Williams, 1823. Notes: Shoemaker 12790. Combines the "Springfield collection", edited by Warriner (Springfield, 1813) and "Musica sacra", published for the Oneida musical society (Utica, 1816) Rare M2116 H35 M4

[Woodbury, I. B. (Isaac Baker), 1819-1858.] The Thanksgiving / [compiled by I.B. Woodbury].: Boston : Brown, Taggard & Chase, [185-?]. SPX Music  Collection M1999 T475 1850za

Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix, 1809-1847. [Sommernachtstraum] Ein Sommernachtstraum von Shakespeare. Musik von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy ; seinem Freunde Heinrich Conrad Schleinitz Zugeeignet. Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [ca. 1850]. SPCOL Music M 209 M5 S75 1850a

Ritson, Joseph, 1752-1803. A select collection of English songs.  London, Printed for J. Johnson, 1783. Contents: v. 1. Preface. A historical essay on the origin and progress of national song. Love-songs.--v. 2. Drinking songs. Miscellaneous songs. Ancient ballads.--v. 3. Airs to the songs.  Rare M 1740 R6

Skinner, Frank, d. 1968. The man of a thousand faces : [production no.] 1844 : originals / [Frank Skinner]. [1957] Holograph in pencil of motion picture music for orchestra. Anonymous gift, 1989. SpCol Music  Coll. M 1527 S556 M36

Skinner, Frank, d. 1968. Magnificent obsession : [production no.] 1749 / by Frank Skinner. Conductor”s copy.: [United States] : Skinner Music Co., c1954. Motion picture music for orchestra. Ozalid reproduction of copyist's manuscript.  Anonymous gift, 1989. Caption title. SpCol Music Coll. M 1527 S556 M3

Skinner, Frank, d. 1968. Interlude : [production no.] 1833 : originals / [Frank Skinner]. [1957] Holograph in pencil of motion picture music for orchestra. Anonymous gift, 1989. SPCOL Music Coll. M 1527 S556 I5

Chopin, Frédéric, 1810-1849. [Piano music. Selections.]. Compositions célèbres pour le piano / par Frédéric Chopin. S. Pétersbourg : A. Büttner, [18--] Physical Description: 1 v. (various pagings) : music ; 32 cm. Music Coll. M 22 C545 P5 1800za

Benedict, Julius, Sir, 1804-1885. Auld Robin Grey : as sung by Miss Lind / [with new accompaniment by Jules Benedict]. Farewell songs of Jenny Lind in America. [Housewright sheet music collection ; v. 13, no. 10]. Boston : Russell & Tolman, 1851. Music Coll. M 1619 F367 1851a

Liberty songs : for the use of Liberty choruses and community singing / State Council of Defense of Illinois. Boston : C. C. Birchard, c1918. Notes: Principally for mixed voices (SATB).Words in part printed as text. Cover title. " A singing nation is a winning nation."--Cover. Rare M 1977 C5 L534 1918a

Berlin, Irving, 1888-. That mesmerizing Mendelssohn tune / words and music by Irving Berlin. New York : Ted Snyder, c1909. Caption title."Mendelssohn rag" First line of text: Honey, listen to that dreamy tune they're playin'. SpCol Music Collection: M 1622 B47 T4 1909a

Botsford, George, 1874-1949. The dance of the grizzly bear / words by Irving Berlin ; music by George Botsford. New York : Ted Snyder, c1910. First line of text: Out in San Francisco where the weather's fair. SpCol Music Manuscript Collection: M 1622 B67 D3 1910a

Bowers, George H. The sweetest girl in town / words and music by Geo. H. Bowers. Chicago : Geo. H. Bowers, c1893. Notes: For voice and piano. First line of text: Last night I made a call on the sweetest girl I know." Sung by Miss Lilly Mack, contralto vocalist." SpCol Music Manuscript Coll: M1622.B69 S9 1893a

Various primary items from Raya Garbusova”s collection, including scores, letters, and instruction books as examples of how primary research collections can be used to tell us about working methods of particular musicians. SpCol Raya Garbousova Collection: Box 6, folder 26; Box 12: folders 2,4,5, 7

Subject Guide

Lynne Thomas
Contact:
http://lynnemthomas.com (Personal Blog)
Website / Blog Page

American Sheet Music at NIU

NIU Alumnus Lee Schreiner has donated a significant collection of American sheet music, dating from the Civil War through to the 1960s, to RBSC. These materials are currently being processed. Please inquire with the curator for further information.