Feminist Theory Website - The materials are currently divided into 31 fields, including traditional disciples such as education, history, and law, and topics such as Post-Colonialism, Separatism, and Body Studies.
From Pi Beta Phi to Arrowmont - IN 1912, the Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women founded a school in Gatlinburg, Tennessee to mark its fiftieth annivesary. This website chronicles the work of the Settlement School ( and its contemporary successor Arrowmont ) tracing the work done by these women in economic development and education in the Great Smoky Mountains from 1910 to 2004.
Gendernet - Sponsored by the World Bank, this site summarizes how its projects work to reduce gender disparities and promote womens involvement in economic development.
Research Resources for the Social Sciences - The site is well organized into 18 different categories, including general resources, reference materials, data archives, and news resources. Each category provides links to web sites including e-journals, listservs, and full-text resources. Another useful category, "Aggressive Pattern Searches," provides links to information about searching the web, effective search strategies, and guides to using Internet search engines.
SAWNET: South Asian Women's Network - SAWNET is a voluntary non registered organization, begun by Jyothy Reddy and Susan Chacko. The countries covered are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Linked sites include statistical data, reports, children's books, etc. SAWNET will be useful to a wide range of audiences interested in South Asian women's issues.
"Abundant Life to All": The Y.W.C.A. of the U.S.A.- This site profiles an exhibit mounted at Smith College in 2007 marking the 65th anniversary of the Sophia Smith Collection on women's history. The items included are drawn from the 1, 132 file boxes of YWCA records held by the collection.
Other Women's Voices: Translations of Women's Writing Before 1700- This site begins with hymns written ca.2300 BC by Enheduanna, a Sumerian priestess, and covers 125 writers from both hemispheres whose works have been translated into modern English.
The Floating World of Ukiyo-E - Ukiyo-e (translated as pictures of the floating or sorrowful world) is a showcase of the Library's spectacular holdings of Japanese prints, books, and drawings from the 17th to the 19th centuries. These works are complemented by related works from the Library of Congress' collections created by Japanese and Westerns artists in the 20th century.
The Jean Thomas Collection-Based at the University of Louisville, this collection records the lifework of Thomas, a major photographer and documentarian of the mountain music of eastern Kentucky in the first decades of the twentieth century.
Women in America: 1820-1842 - A collection of eighteen travelers accounts by both sexes of the United States in the first decades of the nineteenth century, intended to provide a fuller picture of women's lives than that given in Alexis de Toqueville's Democracy In America. Writers included range from James Fenimore Cooper and Charles Dickens to John James Audubon. Searching is provided by author and topic.
The Alan Guttmacher Institute - The Alan Guttmacher Institute was founded in 1968 as a semiautonomous division of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. Today, it is a totally independent, not-for-profit organization whose mission is to "protect and expand the reproductive choices of all women and men; to enable individuals to have access to information and services concerning sexual activity, reproduction, and family planning; and to give priority to the needs and concerns of those who may be disadvantaged." Information provided, which is quite current, comes primarily from research and publications of the Institute itself.