Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
This is the "William Blake Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

William Blake Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

William Blake at NIU

1757-1827

The William Blake collection was formed in 1995 and continues to grow. Included are books featuring poetry, drawings, paintings, and bibliographies of William Blake. Many are reproductions or facsimiles, but we do also own some original editions. We continue to add materials to this collection whenever possible. 

Highlights from the Blake Collection include Trianon Press facsimiles of The Book of Ahania (1973), Blake's illustrations of Dante (1978), Europe, a prophecy (1969), There Is No Natural Religion (1971) and Songs of Innocence (1954). We also own John Gay's Fables (1793) which features 12 plates by Blake.

Recent Blake-related acquisitions include two volumes which contain engravings by Blake:

Lavater, Johann Caspar, 1741-1801. Aphorisms on man: translated from the original manuscript of the Rev. John Caspar Lavater, citizen of Zuric. Second edition. London : Printed by T. Bensley for J. Johnson, St. Paul's Churchyard, 1789.

Blake Collection. PT2392.L2 A3 1789a

Lavater, Johann Caspar, 1741-1801. [Physiognomische Fragmente zur Beförderung der Menschenkenntniss und Menschenliebe. English]. Essays on physiognomy : designed to promote the knowledge and the love of mankind, by John Caspar Lavater ; illustrated by more than eight hundred engravings accurately copied and some duplicates added from originals executed by or under the inspection of Thomas Holloway ; translated from the French by Henry Hunter. London : Printed for John Murray, No. 32 Fleet Street : H. Hunter, D.D. Charles's Square and T. Holloway, No.11, Bache's-Row, Hoxton, 1789-1798.

Blake Collection. BF843 .L3 1789a

Four engravings in v.1 by William Blake: at p. 127, 159, 206, 225, with an inserted variant proof of the engraving on p.411 of Vol. 5, facing that page.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip