Feautured Link
- Let Your Motto Be Resistance: African American Portraits- This website presents the inaugural exhibition of the National Museum of African American History and Culture. The portraits that make up the exhibition span 150 years. The title is drawn from an address delivered on August 16, 1843 by the abolitionist clergyman Henry Highland Garnet to a group of free blacks in the North who had gathered to discuss the future prospects of their community.
General Web Resources
- "With An Even Hand" Brown v. Board at Fifty
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
- African American Oral History Collection ( University of Louisville )
- African American Sheet Music, 1820-1920 - a selection from the over 500,000 pieces in the Sheet Music Collection at Brown University, with a concentration on the period 1840-1950.
- African American Web Connection(AAWC)
- African American Women in Iowa Digital Collection
- African Americans and the End of Slavery in Massachusetts
- African Art, African Voices
- African Diaspora Archaeology Network
- African Elections Project
- African-American Band Music and Recordings
- Africans in America - Intended as a teaching adjunct to a six-hour public television series covering the history of slavery in the US from its beginning to the end of the Civil War, this well-organized site is divided into four sections. The first, The Terrible Transformation, deals the period between 1450 and 1750, followed by The Revolution (1750-1805). Brotherly Love (1791-1831) illuminates the world of the free blacks using the Philadelphia community as an example. The last section, Judgment Day (1831-1865) traces the more familiar story of slavery during the years leading up to and during the Civil War.
- Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1719-1820
- AFSCME, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the 1968 Memphis Sanitation Strike
- An Address to the Colored Citizens of the United States by John B. Meachum (Philadelphia, 1846)
- Ancient Manuscripts from the Desert Libraries of Timbuktu, Library of Congress
- Artists in Dialogue: António Ole and Aimé Mpane
- Atlanta in the Civil Rights Movement
- Avalon Project at Yale Law School: African-Americans-- Biography, Autobiography and History
- Benin-Kings and Rituals: Court Arts from Nigeria
- Binding Wounds, Pushing Boundaries : African Americans in Civil War Medicine
- Black Europeans
- Black Grooves : Archives of African American Music and Culture
- Black History at Harpweek
- Black Members of the United States Congress, 1879 - 2004
- Boston African Americana Project
- Booker T. Washington Papers
- Booker T. Washington's West Virginia Boyhood
- The Civil Rights Movement and the Black Experience in Miami
- Discovering African American History in Rural Ohio: Knox County Black History Digital Archives
- Documenting the American South: The Church in the Southern Black Community
- Documenting the American South : Oral Histories
- Doris Ulmann Photograph Collection
- Eubie Blake Collection, The - European Monitoring Centre on Racism and Xenophobia
- Explorations in Black Leadership
- Free At Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
- The Friend of Man ( 1836-1842 )
- From Slavery To Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection 1822-1909
- George Washington Carver
- Grass Roots: African Origins of An American Art
- Harlem History
- Images of the Antislavery Movement in Massachusetts
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
- Independent Lens: Banished -- American Ethnic Cleansings
- I've Known Rivers: The MoAD Diaspora Stories Project
- Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists
- James B. Duke Memorial Library: Archives
- Job Sprawl and the Spatial Mismatch between Blacks and Jobs
- Land of ( Un) Equal Opportunity: Documenting the Civil Rights Struggle in Arkansas
- Lest We Forget: The Triumph Over Slavery
- Let Your Motto Be Resistance: African American Portraits
- Mapping the African American Past
- Mississippi Freedom Summer Project
- Negroes With Guns: Rob Williams and Black Power
- New Philadelphia: A Multiracial Town on the Illinois Frontier
- Paul Revere Williams Project
- Postcards from Manhattan: The Portrait Photography of Carl Van Vechten
- Race, Immigration and America's Changing Electorate
- Rising Up:Hale Woodruff's Murals from Talladega College
- Rochester Black Freedom Struggle Online Project
- Say It Plain: A Century of Great African American Speeches - Read or listen to transcripts of speeches by famous African Americans.
- Slave Narratives
- Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 - This contains over a hundred pamphlets and books concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. This site is searchable by key word or browse by subject, author, or title index.
- Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web
- Southern Poverty Law Center - The Southern Poverty Law Center was founded a quarter of a century ago for the purpose of winning equal rights for minorities and poor people through legal action. Today the Center continues to pursue action against those who would attack the freedoms of others, while also promoting tolerance, understanding, and justice through education and publicity. This site is well organized and leads the user to a wealth of material related to civil rights and civil liberties.
- State of Siege:Mississippi Whites and the Civil Rights Movement
- The Black Renaissance in Washington, D.C., 1920s-1930s
- Swag Diplomacy: Black Travel Memoirs
- The Blues, Black Vaudeville, and the Silver Screen, 1912-1930s
- The Civil Rights Digital Library
- The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860 - 1960
- The Lloyd L. Gaines Collection
- The Negro Traveler's Green Book, Spring 1956
- The New Great Migration: Black Americans' Return to the South, 1965-2000
- The Road Not Traveled: Education Reform in the Middle East and North Africa
- The State of Public School Integration: Brown vs. Board of Education at 50
- This Far By Faith: African American Spiritual Journeys
- Through the Lens of Time: Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection of Photographs - Over 300 images from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, taken primarily in the Richmond and Central Virginia areas.
- Thurgood Marshall Law Library: Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights -An online full-text database of all publications issuied by the Commission between its beginning in 1957 and 2010.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
- Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture: a Multimedia Archive
- Unforgivable Blackness: The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson -Created as a companion to the documentary film on Johnson by Ken Burns, this site both discusses the film project and gives detailed background on the Progressive era and its at titudes.
- Virginia Black History Archives
- The Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally, 1764-1765
- Walter Gordon Collection of Photographs
- We Shall Overcome
- Wilbur "Buck" Clayton Collection
- Writings of Thomas Wentworth Higginson
Organizations
- African Press Network for the 21st Century
- African Union
- Association of Black Psychologists
- Association of Black Sociologists
- Congressional Black Caucus
- Nation of Islam
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
- NAACP: A Century in the Fight For Freedom
- National Black Justice Coalition-Since 2003, the Coalition has provided leadership at the intersection of mainstream civil rights groups and mainstream LGBT organizations, advocating for the unique challenges and needs of the African American LGBT community that are often relegated to the sidelines.
- National Urban League
- Organization of Black Screenwriters
- U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
- United Negro College Fund
Journals and News Services
- African Journals Online - A database currently featuring 271 scholarly journals published in Africa, in a variety of disciplines. Abstracts are available for all articles.
- African Studies Quarterly: The Online Journal of African Studies
- allAfrica
- BAD Times ( Black Americans for Democracy )
- Callaloo
- Freedom's Journal (1827-1829) - The first African-American owned and operated newspaper in the United States
- Jouvert: A Journal of Postcolonial Studies
- The Black Collegian Online
- The Crisis - "The Crisis is the official magazine of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). [Today it] continues as a current-affairs journal, and a recent digitization project sponsored by Google has made the complete run of the publication." -- from the Scouting Report, Dec. 18, 2009.
- The North Star: A Journal of African-American Religious History
- Western Journal of Black Studies Online Journal
- African Journals Online - A database currently featuring 271 scholarly journals published in Africa, in a variety of disciplines. Abstracts are available for
- Western Journal of Black Studies Online Journal
Afrocentric and Genealogical Sites
- African National Congress
- Afrigeneas - "A mailing list focused on genealogical research and resources in general and on African ancestry in particular"
- University of Pennsylvania: African Studies Center - E-journals/news services
- Unknown No Longer ( Virginia Historical Society )- A unique database of Virginia slave names which reaches back to the 1690s.
Research Centers
- Africa Research Central - ARC's mission is "to centralize and constantly update information about the institutions with African primary source collections, so as to facilitate international research in African studies."
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
- Amistad Research Center (Tulane University)
- Been Here So Long: Selections from the WPA American Slave Narratives - "Complete texts of seventeen of the 2,300 slave narratives collected as part of the Federal Writers Project".
- Black Film Center/Archive - "A repository of films and related materials on African Americans."
- Center for Black Music Research (CBMR)
- Credo ( University of Massachusette )- This site from the University of Massachusetts Special Collections offers researchers full text access to the W.E.B. Du Bois Papers.
- Dred Scott Digital Project
- Internet Resources for African Studies
- Legacies of British Slave-owners ( University College London )
- Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers Project
- Minority Health Archive
- Museum of African-American History (Boston)
- National African American Photographic Archive
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
- Our Shared History: Celebrating African American History and Culture
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Festivals and Culture
- The Katherine Dunham Collection at the Library of Congress
- The King Center: The Beloved Community
- The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute - Secondary documents written about Martin Luther King, Jr., as well as primary documents written during King's life.
- The Roanoke Island Freedmen's Colony - During the Civil War, Union-occupied Roanoke Island, which lies between the North Carolina mainland and the barrier islands known as the Outer Banks, became home to thousands of former slaves. Initially, these refugees settled near the Union headquarters, creating a community that included churches and a school. In the spring of 1863, this camp evolved into a government-sanctioned colony. This site presents an introduction to the colony and the colonial experiment that was conducted there. It also features some primary sources and projects for students.
- University of Miami Libraries: Lydia Cabrera Papers
Museums
Literature
Festivals and Culture
Subject Guide |
Contact Info 15E Founders Memorial Library, Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, IL 6015-2868. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
