Policies
Anatomy of a BookArtists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksCollational Exercises (ENGL 601)From Manuscript to PrintHistory of TypographyThe Medieval BookPrivate Press CollectionPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary Romance
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Anatomy of a BookAmerican Literature to 1830American GirlhoodsAmerican Literature 1830-1865American Literature 1865-1900American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Early American Literature (ENGL 330)Collational Exercises (ENGL 601)The EnlightenmentFrom Manuscript to PrintLetters and Journals in RBSC (ENGL 103)History of TypographyIntroduction to GLBT StudiesNineteenth Century Best SellersThe Medieval BookPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceRenaissance EssayScience Fiction SamplerShakespeareTransatlantic LiteratureTheater ResourcesWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementENGL 707 RyanMid 19th Century Periodicals (ENGL 200)Arthurian Literature ENGL 420HIntro to Special Collections (ENGL)ENGL 381HENGL 375
American GirlhoodsThe EnlightenmentHistory 295History OverviewHistory of TypographyIntroduction to Black StudiesIntroduction to GLBT StudiesThe Medieval BookPaleographyWorld's Fair MaterialsIntroduction to American Indian History (HIST 370)US History overview
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Music-Related Materials in RBSCShakespeareTheater Resources
American GirlhoodsPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceScience Fiction SamplerWorld's Fair Materials
Artists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksThe Medieval BookWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementWorld's Fair Materials
American GirlhoodsAmerican Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Introduction to GLBT Studies
American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Introduction to Black Studies
This is the "American Literature 1865-1900" page of the "Class Visits to Rare Books and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lists of materials for specific classes that have visited RBSC. Click on the tabs for your subject areas
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rbscclassvisitguide Print Guide RSS Updates

American Literature 1865-1900 Print Page
  Search: 
 

American Popular Culture Links

 

American Literature 1865-1900

These are representative materials from our extensive collections of American Literature and Popular Culture available in RBSC. Specific topics may yield more materials; please ask about your topic. To request a class visit, please email the Curator.

Important Popular Precursors:

Rowson, Mrs., 1762-1824. The history of Charlotte Temple. A tale of truth. By Mrs. Rawson. Two volumes in one. Printed for Hez. Steel no. 218 Warren street, Hudson. Catskill, N. Elliott, 1808. Rare Books Collection PS 2736.R3 C5 1808A

Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896. Uncle Tom’s cabin; or, Life among the lowly. By Harriet Beecher Stowe. Boston, J. P. Jewett, 1852. Rare Books Collection PS 2954 .U5

Criswell, Robert. "Uncle Tom’s cabin" contrasted with Buckingham Hall, the planter’s home, or, A fair view of both sides of the slavery question by Robert Criswell. New York : D. Fanshaw, 1852. Rare Books Collection PS1470.C87 U5 1852a

Warner, Susan, 1819-1885. The wide, wide world by Elizabeth Wetherell. New York : George P. Putnam, 1851. American Popular Literature Collection. PS3155 .W5 1851a

Course-related literature (ENGL 578):

Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900. The red badge of courage : an episode of the American civil war by Stephen Crane. New York : D. Appleton and Company, 1896, c1895. American Popular Literature Collection PS 1449.C85 R4 1896a

Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900. The third violet by Stephen Crane. New York : Appleton, 1897. American Popular Literature Collection. PS1449.C85 T47

Chaney, George Leonard, 1836-1922. F. Grant & co., or, Partnerships : a story for the boys who "mean business" by George L. Chaney. Boston : Roberts brothers, 1875. American Popular Literature Collection PZ7 .C3597F

Townsend, Edward Waterman, 1855-1942. "Chimmie Fadden"; Major Max; and other stories, by Edward W. Townsend. New York, Lovell, Coryell & company [c1895]. Edward T. LeBlanc Collection PS 3089.T37 C4 1895a

James, Henry, 1843-1916. A passionate pilgrim, and other tales. By Henry James, jr. Boston, J. R. Osgood and company, 1875. American Popular Literature PS2110.P31875

James, Henry, 1843-1916. Daisy Miller & An international episode, by Henry James, jr.; illustrated from drawings by Harry W. McVickar. New York, Harper & brothers, 1892. Book Arts Collection PS2116 .D3 1892A

Twain, Mark, 1835-1910. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Tom Sawyer’s comrade) ... By Mark Twain. New York : Charles L. Webster and Company, 1885. Johannsen Collection PS 1305 .A1 1885; Rare Books Collection PS1305 .A1 1885A

Riis, Jacob A. (Jacob August), 1849-1914. How the other half lives : studies among the tenements of New York / by Jacob A. Riis ; with illustrations chiefly from photographs taken by the author. New York : C. Scribner’s sons,[1890] Rare Books Collection HV4046.N6 R58

Periodicals:

Godey’s magazine. New York [etc.] The Godey company [etc.] July 1830-Aug. 1898 Rare Books Collection AP2 .G56 v. 78 (1869)

Scribners monthly. [New York : Scribner & Co., 1871-1881] Vol. 1, no. 1 (Nov. 1870)-v. 22 (Oct. 1881). "An illustrated magazine for the people." Rare Books Collection AP2 .C4

St. Nicholas: An Illustrated Magazine For Young Folks. ed. Mary Mapes Dodge. NY: Century Co., 1873-1943. American Popular Literature Collection AP 200 .O82a (selected volumes)

The New-York Ledger: A Journal of Choice Literature, Romance, and Useful Information. NY: Robert Bonner's Sons, [1856-1896]. LeBlanc Collection PS535 .N486a 

Other Popular Publishing:

Southworth, Emma Dorothy Eliza Nevitte, 1819-1899. The broken engagement by Emma D.E.N. Southworth. The arm chair library ; no. 89. New York : F.M. Lupton, [18--?]. With: Poe, Edgar Allan, 1809-1849. Unparalleled adventure of one Hans Pfaall. Johannsen Collection. PS 2892 .B77 1800ZA

Stephens, Ann S. (Ann Sophia), 1810-1886. Malaeska : the Indian wife of the white hunter by Mrs. Ann S. Stephens. New York : Beadle and Co., 141 William St., [1860] Johannsen Collection PS1589.E3H85 1865a

Wheeler, Edward L. (Edward Lytton), 1854 or 5-1885. Deadwood Dick Library by Edward L. Wheeler. The Deadwood Dick library. Cleveland : Arthur Westbrook Co., c1878-1884. Colorado-Henkle Collection. PS374.D5D4 Johannsen Collection PS3166.W43 D46 1899A

Wheeler, Edward L. (Edward Lytton), 1854 or 5-1885. Deadwood Dick’s big deal, or, The gold brick of Oregon by Edward L. Wheeler. Beadle’s frontier series no. 30. Cleveland: A. Westbrook, c1883. Johannsen Collection. PS3166.W43 D395 1883A

Coryell, John Russell, 1851-1924. Nick Carter in Chicago, or, The crime of the Lake City by the author of "Nick Carter." Nick Carter library ; no. 27. New York : Street & Smith, 1892. Johannsen Collection PS1449.C378 N5 1892a

Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888. Hospital sketches : and, Camp and fireside stories by Louisa M. Alcott. Boston : Roberts Bros., 1869. American Popular Literature Collection. PS1017 .H66 1869a

Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888. Little women, or Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy by Louisa M. Alcott ; illustrated by May Alcott. Boston : Roberts Brothers, 1869, c1868. American Popular Literature Collection PS1017 .L5 1869a .

The Lady’s friend. Edited by Mrs. Henry Peterson. v. 3, no. 9 Dec. 1866. Philadelphia, Deacon & Peterson [1864-73] American Popular Literature Collection AP2 .L2532

Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882. The New-England tragedies. By Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. 1st American ed. Boston, Ticknor and Fields, 1868. American Popular Literature Collection PS 2261 .A1 1868A

Alger, Horatio, 1832-1899. Sink or swim ; or, Harry Raymond’s resolve by Horatio Alger, Jr. Luck and Pluck Series. Boston : Loring, 1870. Horatio Alger Collection. PS 1029. A3 LOR. S64 1870a

Harte, Bret, 1836-1902. Mrs. Skagg’s husbands, and other sketches. By Bret Harte. Boston, J.R. Osgood and company, 1873. American Popular Literature Collection PS 1829 .M57

Tip-Top Weekly: An Ideal Publication for the American Youth. NY: Street & Smith, 1896- Merriwell Collection PS 374 D5 T46a 

Wide Awake Library. NY: Frank Tousey, 1878- LeBlanc Collection  

Walworth, Bob. The Magic Rifle, or, Dick Drew Against the Sioux. American Indian Series Illustrated no. 1. Cleveland: Arthur Westbrook Co., c1910. LeBlanc Collection.

Wheeler, Edward L.Deadwood Dick's Big Deal, or, The Gold Brick of Oregon. Beadle's Frontier Series no. 30. NY: Beadle & Adams, c.1883. Cleveland, OH: Arthur Westbrook Co., [n.d.]. Johannsen Collection. PS 3166 .W43 D395 1883a

Carleton, Latham C. The Hunters. I.P. Beadle's Ten Cent Novels No. 1. NY: Irwin P. Beadle & Co., 1863. Johannsen Collection. PZ1.A1 I785

Ingraham, Prentiss, Col. Adventures of Buffalo Bill from Boyhood to Manhood. Beadle's Boy's Library of Sport, Story and Adventure Vol. 1, no. 1.NY: Beadle & Adams, 1881. Johannsen Collection. PS 2048 .I54 A65 1881a

Harbaugh, T. C. The Kit Carson Club, or, Young Hawkeyes in the Northwest. Beadle's Boy's Library of Sport, Story and Adventure Vol. 3, no. 76. NY: Beadle & Adams, 1883. Johannsen Collection. PS 1784 .H6 K57 1883a

Appleton, Victor. The Movie Boys' First Show House. Movie Boys Series #11. NY: Garden City Publishing Co., 1926. LeBlanc Collection (Uncat Annex) 

Carter, Nicholas. The Sign of the Coin. New Magnet Library No. 1312. NY: Street & Smith, c1912. LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Dickens, Charles. A Tale of Two Cities. Neely's Tourist Library no. 28. NY: F. Tennyson Neely, [n.d.] LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Hawthorne, Nathaniel. The Scarlet Letter. Railway Library. London: Routledge, Warne & Routledge, 1860. LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Enterprise Series, no. 35. Chicago, E.A. Weeks & Co., June 28, 1895. LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Dickens, Charles. Bleak House. The Cosmopolitan Series No. 15. NY: Hurst & Co., Aug. 3, 1889. LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Mooers, De Sacia. The Blonde Vampire. Photoplay edition. NY: International Copyright Bureau, c1920. LeBlanc Collection(Uncat Annex)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lynne Thomas
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip