Policies
Anatomy of a BookArtists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksCollational Exercises (ENGL 601)From Manuscript to PrintHistory of TypographyThe Medieval BookPrivate Press CollectionPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary Romance
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Anatomy of a BookAmerican Literature to 1830American GirlhoodsAmerican Literature 1830-1865American Literature 1865-1900American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Early American Literature (ENGL 330)Collational Exercises (ENGL 601)The EnlightenmentFrom Manuscript to PrintLetters and Journals in RBSC (ENGL 103)History of TypographyIntroduction to GLBT StudiesNineteenth Century Best SellersThe Medieval BookPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceRenaissance EssayScience Fiction SamplerShakespeareTransatlantic LiteratureTheater ResourcesWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementENGL 707 RyanMid 19th Century Periodicals (ENGL 200)Arthurian Literature ENGL 420HIntro to Special Collections (ENGL)ENGL 381HENGL 375Restoration Literature
American GirlhoodsThe EnlightenmentHistory 295History OverviewHistory of TypographyIntroduction to Black StudiesIntroduction to GLBT StudiesThe Medieval BookPaleographyWorld's Fair MaterialsIntroduction to American Indian History (HIST 370)US History overview
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Music-Related Materials in RBSCShakespeareTheater Resources
American GirlhoodsPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceScience Fiction SamplerWorld's Fair Materials
Artists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksThe Medieval BookWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementWorld's Fair Materials
American GirlhoodsAmerican Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Introduction to GLBT Studies
American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Introduction to Black Studies
This is the "American Literature 1830-1865" page of the "Class Visits to Rare Books and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lists of materials for specific classes that have visited RBSC. Click on the tabs for your subject areas
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rbscclassvisitguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

American Literature 1830-1865 Print Page
  Search: 
 

American Popular Culture Links

 

American Literature 1830-1865

These are representative materials from our extensive collections of American Literature and Popular Culture available in RBSC. Specific topics may yield more materials; please ask about your topic. To request a class visit, please email the Curator.

Materials Directly Related to American Transcendentalism

Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882. An address delivered before the senior class in Divinity College, Cambridge, Sunday evening, 15 July, 1838 by Ralph Waldo Emerson. Boston: James Munroe and Company, 1838. Rare Books Collection BX9842 .E551838a

Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882. May-day, and other pieces. Boston, Ticknor and Fields,1867. Contents: May-day.--The Adirondacs.--Occasional and miscellaneous pieces: Brahma. Nemesis. Fate. Freedom. Ode sung in the Town hall, Concord, July 4, 1857. Boston hymn. Voluntaries. Love and thought. Lover’s petition. Una. Letters. Rubies. Merlin ’s song. The test. Solution.--Nature and life: Nature. The Romany girl. Days. The Chartist’s complaint. My Garden. The titmouse. Sea-shore. Song of nature. Two rivers. Waldeinsamkeit. Terminus. The past. The last farewell. In memoriam.--Elements: Experience. Compensation. Politics. Heroism. Character. Culture. Friendship. Beauty. Manners. Art. Spiritual laws. Unity. Worship.--Quatrains--Translations. Special Collections PS1624 .M2 1867

Channing, William Ellery, 1780-1842. A Sermon. Boston: 1830. Rare Books Collection BV4260 .M5 1830

Herder, Johann Gottfried, 1744-1803. The spirit of Hebrew poetry, by J.G. Herder. Translated from the German, by James Marsh. Burlington, [Vt.] E. Smith, 1833. Main Collection BS1405 .H45

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. The scarlet letter, a romance. By Nathaniel Hawthorne. [1st ed.] Boston, Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1850. BAL 7600. "The first edition has the word "reduplicate" in line 20 on p. 21." Rare Books Collection PS 1868 A1 1850a

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. The scarlet letter, a romance. By Nathaniel Hawthorne. [2nd ed.] Boston, Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1850. BAL 7601. "The 2d ed. has the word repudiate in line 20 on p. 21, and other textual changes from the 1st ed. There is also a preface added, dated Salem, March 30, 1850." Rare Books Collection PS1868 .A11850A

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. The house of the seven gables : a romance. By Nathaniel Hawthorne. Boston : Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1851. Rare PS 1861 A1 1851a

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. The Blithedale romance. Boston : Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1852. Rare PS1855 .A1 1852a

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. Tanglewood tales for girls and boys; being a second Wonderbook. By Nathaniel Hawthorne ... Boston, Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1853. This is probably the 3d issue of the 1st edition, as the publishers’ advertisements, bound in the book, are dated October, 1853, while those of the first issue are dated August, and there are still others of September. The first issue has the imprint of the stereotyper on the verso of the title-page, while the later issues have the imprint of the printer above that of the stereotyper. cf. Grolier club, First editions of the works of Nathaniel Hawthorne, N.Y., 1905. Rare Books Collection PS 1869 .A1 1853B

Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864. [Marble Faun]. Transformation, or, The romance of Monte Beni by Nathaniel Hawthorne. 2nd ed. London : Smith, Elder, 1860. References: BAL 7622. First edition to include Hawthorne’s "Postscript," v. 3, p. 286- 294. Published in 2 v., by Ticknor and Fields, under title: The marble faun, or, The romance of Monte Beni. Rare Books Collection PS1872 .T7 1860

Whitman, Walt, 1819-1892. Leaves of grass. Brooklyn, New York 1855. BAL 21395; Myerson, J. Whitman, p. 12-20 (A 2.1.a.); The portrait is printed on heavy plate paper. The covers have gilt borders and the back is decorated with ornaments stamped in gilt. Copy 1: This copy is the second state of the first issue of the first edition, according to Myerson. It has the first state of the frontispiece, but the second state of p. iv and the copyright page. It is in binding "A" according to BAL, and does not include notices and reviews. Copy 2: This copy is the second state of the first issue of the first edition, according to Myerson. It has the second state of the frontispiece, p. iv and the copyright page. It is in binding "B" according to BAL, and includes [8] p. of notices and reviews bound in the front of the volume. Whitman Collection. PS 3201 1855a

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor, 1772-1834. Aids to reflection in the formation of a manly character on the several grounds of prudence, morality, and religion : illustrated by select passages from our elder divines, especially from Archbishop Leighton by S.T. Coleridge. 2d ed. London : Hurst, Chance, 1831. Special Collections PR4480 .A4 1831

Graham’s lady’s and gentleman’s magazine (The Casket and Gentleman’s united) : embracing every department of literature... Published: Philadelphia : G.R. Graham, 1841. Includes several contributions by Edgar Allan Poe. Johannsen Collection AP2 .G724 1841A

Fourier, Charles, 1772-1837. La fausse industrie morcele´e, re´pugnante, mensonge`re, et L’antidote, l’industrie naturelle, combine´e, attrayante, ve´ridique, donnant quadruple produit et perfection extrême en toutes qualite´s par Ch. Fourier. Paris : Bossange pe`re [et] L’auteur, 1836. Rare Books Collection HX704 .F73 1836a

Fourier, Charles, 1772-1837. The passions of the human soul. By Charles Fourier. Tr. from the French, by the Rev. John Reynell Morell. With critical annotations, a biography of Fourier, and a general introduction. By Hugh Doherty. London and New York, H. Bailliere [etc., etc.] 1851. Rare Books Collection BF552 .F7

Omar Khayyam. [Ruba¯?i¯ya¯t. English] Ruba´iya´t of Omar Khayya´m : the astronomer-poet of Persia rendered into English verse. 3d ed. London : B. Quaritch, 1872. Notes: Translated by Edward FitzGerald. Special Collections PK6513 .A1 1872 

Thoreau, Henry David. The Maine Woods. Boston: Ticknor and Fields, 1864. Rare Books F27 P5 T43 1864a

Fuller, Margaret 1810-1850. Art, Literature and The Drama. Ed. by Arthur B. Fuller. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1875. Rare Books PS 2504 A7 1875

Fuller, Margaret 1810-1850. Memoirs of Margaret Fuller Ossoli. Boston: Phillips, Sampson and Company, 1852. Rare Books PS 2506 A6 1852

A Selection of Popular Literature 1830-1865

Daily texts, with verses of hymns : adapted for general use, and suited for every year. New York : Published by the American Tract Society, no. 144 Nassau-street, [1830?] Rare Books Collection BV 4810 .D336 1830A

Sherwood, Mrs. (Mary Martha), 1775-1851. The happy choice, or, The potters’ common by Mrs. Sherwood. Revised by the Committee of Publication. Philadelphia : American Sunday School Union, [1830?] Rare Books Collection PR5449.S4 H361830A

Goodrich, Samuel G. (Samuel Griswold),1793-1860. The tales of Peter Parley about America. Peter Parley’s tales. 3d ed. Boston : Carter, Hendee & Babcock, 1830.  Rare Books Collection E178.1 .G663 1830

Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882. Hyperion, a romance. By the author of "Outre-mer". New York, S. Colman, 1839. Rare Books Collection PS 2273 .H9 1839A

Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882. The song of Hiawatha. By Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. 1st American ed. Boston, Ticknor and Fields, 1856. BAL 12112, 9th printing, 30th thousand, as dated April, 1856. Rare Books Collection PS 2267 .A1 1856

Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896. Uncle Tom’s cabin; or, Life among the lowly. By Harriet Beecher Stowe. Boston, J. P. Jewett, 1852. Rare Books Collection PS 2954 .U5

Criswell, Robert. "Uncle Tom’s cabin" contrasted with Buckingham Hall, the planter’s home, or, A fair view of both sides of the slavery question by Robert Criswell. New York : D. Fanshaw, 1852. Rare Books Collection PS1470.C87 U5 1852a

Warner, Susan, 1819-1885. The wide, wide world by Elizabeth Wetherell. New York : George P. Putnam, 1851. American Popular Literature Collection. PS3155 .W5 1851a

Frank Leslie’s illustrated newspaper. New York, N.Y. : Frank Leslie, 1855-1891. Horatio Alger and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections AP2.F747a 

The Magnolia, or, Gift Book of Friendship. Edited by Clara Arnold. Boston : Phillips, Sampson and Company, c1854. Rare Books Collection AY11 M4a

The token and Atlantic souvenir, a Christmas and New Year’s present. Edited by S. G. Goodrich. Boston, American Stationers’ Company, 1838. Rare Books Collection AY6 .T6 1838a

Godey’s magazine, Godey's Lady's Book  New York [etc.] The Godey company [etc.] (1830-1898) Rare Books Collection AP2 .G56  and Special Collections AP2 .G57A (various issues)

Cooper, James Fenimore, 1789-1851. The Wept of Wish Ton-Wish : a tale by the author of The pioneers, Prairie, &c. Philadelphia : Carey,Lea & Blanchard, 1838, c1829. American Popular Literature Collection PS1418 .W7 1838a

Optic, Oliver, 1822-1897. Try again : or, The trials and triumphs of Harry West : A story for young folks by Oliver Optic [i.e. W. T. Adams]. Oliver Optic Series, no. 16. Chicago : M. A. Donohue & Co., [185-?]. American Popular Literature Collection. PZ7.A22 TR3

Optic, Oliver, 1822-1897. Little by little : or, The cruise of the flyaway : a story for young folks by Oliver Optic [i. e. W. T. Adams] . New York : Hurst, 1860. American Popular Literature Collection PZ7.A22 LITT

Stone, T. D. P. (Timothy Dwight Porter), 1811-1887. Stories to teach me to think by T.D.P. Stone. 5th ed. improved. Boston : Tappan and Dennet, 1844, c1839. American Popular Literature Collection. PS2943.S866 S86 1844a

Tuttle, Joseph F. (Joseph Farrand), 1818-1901. Self-reliance written for the American Sunday-School Union, and revised by the Committee of Publication. Philadelphia : American Sunday-School Union, 1853. American Popular Literature Collection. BV4501 .T877 1853a

The New-York Ledger: A Journal of Choice Literature, Romance, and Useful Information. NY: Robert Bonner's Sons, [1856-1896]. Johannsen Collection PS535 N486A ; additional issues in LeBlanc Collection (Uncat Annex)

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip