Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
This is the "Horatio Alger Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Horatio Alger Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Horatio Alger Jr. Collections

The Horatio Alger Collection

The Horatio Alger Collection at Northern Illinois University is the world's most comprehensive collection of materials by this best-selling boys' series writer, numbering over 4,000 volumes. This collection contains most first, hard-cover, soft-cover, and variant editions; serialized titles; manuscripts; letters; and the archives of the Horatio Alger Society. Some of these materials have been digitized, and are available through our Horatio Alger Digital Repository.

The NIU Libraries created this collection from materials already held in other collections shortly after the Horatio Alger Society selected the NIU Libraries as their official repository in 1994. Since then, our holdings have grown through purchases and through donations from members of the Horatio Alger Society. This collection complements our American Popular Literature, Albert Johannsen, Edward T. LeBlanc, Frank Merriwell, and Edward Stratemeyer collections.

Research in this collection is eligible for financial support through the annual Horatio Alger Fellowship for the Study of American Popular Culture.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip