Private Press CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionAuthors and Illustrators Collected by RBSC
Digitized Rare Books and Online ExhibitionsRare Books Links
Comic Books Held at NIU by TitleEdward T. LeBlanc Collection of dime novels (Uncataloged items)GLBT Periodicals held in RBSCManuscripts Collections Finding AidsScience Fiction and Fantasy Magazines held at NIUWestern Fiction Magazines
Dime NovelsScience Fiction & Fantasy LiteratureComic Books CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWestern Fiction MagazinesAmerican Popular Literature CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionFrank Skinner Collection
African American CollectionEdward Ardizzone CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionLord Byron CollectionJohn Dos Passos CollectionGender Studies CollectionGraham Greene CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionMusic-Related Materials in RBSCTheater ResourcesFrank Skinner CollectionWilliam Wordsworth CollectionDonn V. Hart Southeast Asia CollectionMaps Collections in RBSC
Policies
Edward Ardizzone CollectionHoratio Alger CollectionWilliam Blake CollectionRobert Burns CollectionAlan Denson PapersJohn Dos Passos CollectionGraham Greene CollectionJames Hanley CollectionH.P. Lovecraft CollectionWillard Motley CollectionVincent Starrett CollectionJeremy Taylor CollectionWalt Whitman CollectionAngus Wilson CollectionWilliam Wordsworth Collection
This is the "African American Collection" page of the "Rare Books and Special Collections At Northern Illinois University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rarebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

African American Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

African American Collection

African American Collection

We continually add materials to the African American Collection. If you would like to donate materials to this collection, or have a suggestion for a purchase, please contact Lynne Thomas, the Curator.

Nearly all of our materials for this collection are located in our online catalog. To find out which books the library has in this collection, search for "African American Collection" including the quote marks under Any Word Anywhere in the online catalog.

The African-American Collection includes over 200 books and other materials in all subject areas by and about African Americans and other people of African descent throughout the world. Special emphases are placed on Black history, civil rights movements in the United States, literature by African American authors and pamphlets by Black authors on slavery, emancipation, and the Black experience in the United States. Northern also holds the papers of Willard Motley, an African-American writer who was part of the Chicago Renaissance.

Early highlights from the collection include the first book ever published by an African-American, Phyllis Wheatley's Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral(1773); the original edition of My Bondage and My Freedom by Frederick Douglass (1856); an early edition of William Still's The Underground Railroad; and an issue of the Liberator. Related materials also live in our American Popular Literature, Private Press, Gender Studies, and Rare Book Collections.

More modern materials include pamphlets on the Scottsboro Case; many titles by and about the Black Panther Party and Angela Davis; published speeches by Martin Luther King,Jr. and Malcolm X; signed books by Toni Morrison, Gloria Naylor, and Gwendolyn Brooks. We also hold a large run of Minister Louis Farrakhan's The Final Call newspaper.

Recent acquisitions include Countee Cullen's The Lost Zoo (1969); the first edition of Passing by Nella Larsen; and signed first editions of Audre Lorde's The Cancer Journals and First Cities.

 

Fellowships

Horatio Alger Fellowship for the Study of American Popular Culture
Northern Illinois University

The University Libraries, Northern Illinois University, invite applications for the Horatio Alger Fellowship for the Study of American Popular Culture. Funding is available to scholars who will be using materials from the Libraries’ major holdings in American popular culture. These holdings include the Albert Johannsen and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections of more than 50,000 dime novels, and the nation’s preeminent collections related to Horatio Alger, Jr., and Edward Stratemeyer. Many other authors are represented. Topics which could draw on the collections’ strengths might include the plight of urban children, image of the American West in popular literature, widespread use of pseudonyms, and stereotypical portrayals. Preference will be given to applicants who signify an interest in conducting research related to Horatio Alger, Jr. The Fellowship award consists of a $1500 stipend.

Candidates should submit a letter of interest, a curriculum vitae, a brief proposal for their research, and two letters of recommendation to: Lynne M. Thomas, Head, Rare Books and Special Collections, University Libraries, Horatio Alger Fellowship, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL 60115-2868. Electronic applications may be emailed to lmthomas@niu.edu

The deadline for applications is May 31, 2014, with research taking place between July 1 and December 31, 2014.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip