This is the "Home" page of the "Regional History Center Exhibits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Regional History Center Exhibits  

Exhibits featuring items from the Regional History Center and NIU Archives.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2012 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/RHCexhibits Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RHC Exhibits

The Regional History Center of Northern Illinois University has a goal to acquire, preserve, and make available to the public the most significant historical records of the northern Illinois region.  It regularly features exhibits to display its archival collections; many of these exhibts are available for online viewing from the links below.


BUY LOCAL: The evolution of advertising in northern Illinois commerce

The exhibit chronologically displays advertisements from regional businesses, showing the impact of New York’s Madison Avenue ad scene on local culture. The materials come from the Regional History Center’s archive collections, dating from the 1890s through the onset of the digital age.






Vestiges of a Nation Divided:The Civil War's impact on northern Illinois

In honor of the 150th anniversary of the start of the Civil War, the Regional History Center created an exhibit which utilizes the photo-sharing site Flickr to feature items from the archives: letters, political cartoons, and pictures from the Civil War era. Items originate across the country, but their roots trace back to the northern Illinois region. This demonstrates that although this Union land was not used as a battle ground, the War's impact upon northern Illinois's residents was far-reaching. Its farmers, doctors, and tradesmen were sent to the distant corners of the country while wives ran every aspect of the home in the absence of their men.




Somethin' to Write Home About: Letters from the Regional History Center Collections

Somethin’ to Write Home About” examines the impact of both mundane daily activities and extraordinary historical events on  the residents of the northern Illinois region through their written words.  Letters date as far back as the 1850s with topics including the military, college life, Northern Illinois University, and family life.






February 14 Memorial Project

February 14, 2008 was a tragic day for the community of Northern Illinois University. This site was created by the staff of the University Archives and Regional History Center as a memorial for all affected by that day's campus shooting. It is devoted to the healing and support of each individual as they browse and comment upon the items and contribute their own unique memories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Archives Alive!

Profile Image
Regional History Center and University Archives
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip