This is the "Find Books" page of the "Online Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Books  

Online Books
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/OnlineCatalogs Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Catalogs

Our Catalog Find books in the Northern Illinois University Libraries, or search the holdings of 76 libraries throughout the state.

World Cat Find books in world's largest online catalog, searching libraries around the world.

Primo is a cross-discipline retrieval of material accessible to NIU community members. Primo provides an overview of research in topic area (in-depth searching better achieved by searching subject specific databases).

Statewide Illinois Library Catalog (SILC) Use the Statewide Illinois Library Catalog to find books at public libraries and library systems throughout the state.

E-brary This electronic book package includes more than 35,000 individual texts covering a broad array of academic disciplines. The database boasts a distinguished set of publishers including such university presses as Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, Harvard, etc. The content of the database is well paired with an advanced set of tools that allows for expansive searching capabilities, and manipulation and storage of text.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog provides a search interface to the CRL makes "vast collections of newspapers, microform, journals, dissertations and other materials". Materials are "available via interlibrary loan, through electronic document delivery or in its reading room". The University Libraries is a member.

Copyright Education & Consultation Program This website serves as a copyright information resource intended for the instructors, researchers, and librarians of Illinois.

Net Library offers access to digitized books, including all of the titles produced by the Gutenberg Project. In addition, the University Libraries offers access to some 1,500 titles in business, computer science, and general reference. Notice that to check out books, you need to register at a computer, which is directly linked at the library to set up an individual account. With this individual ID and password, you may access the materials from off campus through any Internet service provider. Full Text.

Hathi Trust is a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, bringing together the immense collections of partner institutions. Conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system, HathiTrust established a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections, making their collections available, to everyone, anywhere, any time.


Recent Acquisitions

EBook Vendors with the growth e-book readers (e.g. Kindle, Sony's E-Reader) the University Libraries is monitoring the availability of e-books, both paid and free, for these appliances.  To ensure proper compatibility and full copyright compliance, the University Libraries suggest that patrons consult the maker of their appliance for the location of properly formatted e-books.  This wiki, E-book Reader Matrix provides a list of appliances available as of November 1, 2009 (the University Libraries does not guarantee the completeness of this matrix).

Books are retrieved from storage according to this schedule. Periodicals are retrieved from storage according to this schedule.

 

Chat with a Librarian


Need Help before or after Chat Reference Hours?
Try . . .

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip