Policies
Anatomy of a BookArtists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksCollational Exercises (ENGL 601)From Manuscript to PrintHistory of TypographyThe Medieval BookPrivate Press CollectionPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary Romance
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Anatomy of a BookAmerican Literature to 1830American GirlhoodsAmerican Literature 1830-1865American Literature 1865-1900American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Early American Literature (ENGL 330)Collational Exercises (ENGL 601)The EnlightenmentFrom Manuscript to PrintLetters and Journals in RBSC (ENGL 103)History of TypographyIntroduction to GLBT StudiesNineteenth Century Best SellersThe Medieval BookPaleographyPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceRenaissance EssayScience Fiction SamplerShakespeareTransatlantic LiteratureTheater ResourcesWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementENGL 707 RyanMid 19th Century Periodicals (ENGL 200)Arthurian Literature ENGL 420HIntro to Special Collections (ENGL)ENGL 381HENGL 375Restoration LiteratureENGL 678Tolkien's Middle Ages (ENGL499)Milton (ENGL409)17th Century English Prose & Poetry (ENGL 642)ENGL656: British 18th Century LiteratureENGL656: British 18th Century LiteratureAuroraU:American Literature through 1865
American GirlhoodsThe EnlightenmentHistory 295History OverviewHistory of TypographyIntroduction to Black StudiesIntroduction to GLBT StudiesThe Medieval BookPaleographyWorld's Fair MaterialsIntroduction to American Indian History (HIST 370)US History overviewHIST295NatureGame of Thrones
Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Music-Related Materials in RBSCShakespeareTheater Resources
American GirlhoodsPulp Fiction and Planetary RomanceScience Fiction SamplerWorld's Fair Materials
Artists' Books and Three-Dimensional BooksThe Medieval BookWilliam Morris and the Arts and Crafts MovementWorld's Fair Materials
American GirlhoodsAmerican Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Introduction to GLBT Studies
American Womanhood and Abolition (ENGL 332)Cultural Intersections of Music and Literature (ENGL 110)Introduction to Black Studies
This is the "17th Century English Prose & Poetry (ENGL 642)" page of the "Class Visits to Rare Books and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lists of materials for specific classes that have visited RBSC. Click on the tabs for your subject areas
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/rbscclassvisitguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

17th Century English Prose & Poetry (ENGL 642) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

17th Century English Poetry & Prose (ENGL 642)

John Donne

Donne, John, 1572-1631. Biathanatos. A declaration of that paradoxe, or thesis, that selfe-homicide is not so naturally sinne, that it may never be otherwise. Wherein the nature, and the extent of all those lawes, which seeme to be violated by this act, are diligently surveyed. Written by Iohn Donne. London, Printed by John Dawson, [1644] 9 p.l., 218 (i.e. 220) p. 19 cm. Notes: Edited by his son, John Donne The dedicatory epistle signed, Io: Donne i.e. John Donne, 1604-1662. Error in paging: nos. 191-192 repeated. Rare Books Collection HV6544 D7

Donne, John, 1572-1631. [Correspondence. Selections.] Letters to severall persons of honour written by John Donne, sometime Deane of St. Pauls London ; published by John Donne, Dr. of the civill law. London : Printed by J. Flesher, and are to be sold by John Sweeting ..., 1654. [6], 318 p. ; 19 cm. Sheets of the 1st edition with cancel t.p. Wing D1865; Keynes 56. Rare Books Collection PR 2248 .A3 1654

Katherine Philips

Philips, Katherine. Poems. London: Printed By J.G. For Rich. Marriott, At His Shop Under S. Dunstans Church In Fleet-street. 1664. RBX PR3619 .P4 1664

Philips, Katherine,, Corneille, Pierre, Denham, John, Poems By The Most Deservedly Admired Mrs. Katherine Philips, The Matchless Orinda. London: H. Herringman, 1667. RBX PR3619 .P4 1667

Philips, Katherine,, Corneille, Pierre, Denham, John, Poems By The Most Deservedly Admired Mrs. Katherine Philips, The Matchless Orinda: To Which Is Added Monsieur Corneille's Pompey & Horace, Tragedies. London: Printed By J. M. For H. Herringman, 1669 RBX PR3619 .P4 1669

Brown, Thomas,, Otway, Thomas,, Philips, Katherine,, Cheek, Thomas., Boileau Despréaux, Nicolas,, Dennis, John,Rochester, John Wilmot,Familiar Letters. London: Briscoe, 1697. RBX PR3669 .R2 1697

John Milton

Milton, John. Eikonoklastes [Greek Transliterated]: In Answer To A Book Intitl'd Eikon Basilike [Greek Transliterated], The Portrature Of His Sacred Majesty In His Solitudes And Sufferings. London: Printed by M. Simmons. [1649]. RBX DA400.C49 M6 1649

Dryden, John,Milton, John,The State Of Innocence, And Fall Of Man: An Opera : Written In Heroick Verse : And Dedicated To Her Royal Highness The Dutchess. London : Printed By H. H. For H. Herringman, And Are To Be Sold By J. Knight And F. Saunders, 1684. RBX PR1266.P553 1678 ATITLEB

Milton, John. The History Of Britain: That Part Especially Now Call'd England. From The First Traditional Beginning, Continu'd To The Norman Conquest. Collected Out Of The Ancientest And Best Authors Thereo. London: Printed For Ri. Chiswell. Sold By Nath. Roles, 1695. RBX DA135.M548 X 1695 ATITLEA

Milton, John,Toland, John, A Complete Collection Of The Historical, Political, And Miscellaneous Works Of John Milton: Both English And Latin. With Som Papers Never Before Publish'd. To Which Is Prefix'd The Life Of The Author [by J. Toland] Containing, Besides The History Of His Works, Several Extraordinary Characters Of Men And Books, Sects, Parties, And Opinions. Amsterdam: 1698. RBX PR3569 .A1 1698

Poems On Affairs Of State: From The Time Of Oliver Cromwell, To The Abdication Of K. James The Second. The Third Edition. [S.l. : S.n.], 1699. RBX PR1195.H5 P6 1699

Dryden, John, Milton, John,eds. Poems On Affairs Of State: From The Times Of Oliver Cromwell, To The Abdication Of K. James The Second. [London]: 1702. RBX PR1195.H5 P6 1702 Milton, John,Bentley, Richard,Milton's Paradise Lost. London: Printed For Jacob Tonson; [etc., Etc.] 1732. RBX PR 3560 1732

Milton, John. PARADISE LOST. A POEM IN TWELVE BOOK. LONDON,: 1749. RBX PR3552 .N486

Milton, John,Wright, William Aldis,Facsimile Of The Manuscript Of Milton's Minor Poems. Cambridge [Eng.: The University Press, 1899. RBX PR3552 .A1

Ben Jonson:

Jonson, Ben. The Workes of Benjamin Jonson. [Volume 1] London: Printed by William Stansby, 1616. 
Rare Oversize PR 2600 C16 
---. The Workes of Benjamin Jonson. [Volume the second].London: Printed for Richard Meighen, 1640. 
Rare Oversize PR 2600 C40

Context:

Charles I, Gauden, John, purported authors. Eikōn Basilikē: The Povrtraictvre Of His Sacred Maiestie In His Solitvdes And Svfferings. [s. l.: S. N.], 1648. RBX DA400 .C483. The text that Eikonoklastes is responding to; this is a hugely popular defense of Charles I, portraying him as a Christian martyr.

Johnson, Samuel. The Lives Of The Most Eminent English Poets: With Critical Observations On Their Works. London: Printed For C. Bathurst, [etc.] 1783. RBX PR553 .J7 1783

Taylor, Jeremy. [Letters 1659-1661]. Jeremy Taylor Collection, BR 75 T2 A4. [Example of manuscript letters from this period].

[Note Of Obligation Owed By Thomas Mynett, Father And Thomas Mynett, Son, Of Hawkesbury In The County Of Gloucester To The Saples, Dated 25th November In The 4th Year Of The Reign Of Charles I (i.e., 1628 Or 1629). Manuscripts Collection DA670.G5 N67 1628a (oversize flat?) Example of period legal document.

Darracott, Richard. [Five Funeral Sermons. [Chulmleigh, England : R. Darracott, 1725-1726 RBX BV4275 .D366 1725A

Darracott, Richard,, Wallace, Leslie F.,Sharp, James,Funeral Sermons Preached At Chulmleigh. RBX BV4275 .D366 1722a

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lynne M. Thomas
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip